Player of the Match
Player of the Match

Williams, Erasmus fifties hand Canada first loss

Namibia 268 for 8 (Williams 82, Erasmus 66, Dutta 2-26) beat Canada 251 for 8 (Gunasekera 57, Pathirana 47, Smit 3-47, Frylinck 3-57) by 17 runs

Batsman Gerhard Erasmus followed up his final-over heroics from 24 hours earlier with his second consecutive half-century, teaming with allrounder Craig Williams for a 95-run sixth-wicket stand as Namibia handed Canada their first loss of the tournament, by 17 runs at United Cricket Field.

At a ground that has been a bowler's paradise in the opening hour of play, Canada won the toss and unsurprisingly sent the hosts in. But they struggled to break through, as Stephan Baard and Lohan Louwrens survived the Powerplay with a 47-run opening stand. Navneet Dhaliwal, whose part-time medium pace ripped apart Kenya on Sunday, struck twice in the 12th over to bring Canada back.

But Williams produced Namibia's highest score of the tournament - 82 off 89 balls - before departing in the 48th over. Erasmus had been with him for much of the way, and once again took Namibia into the last over to forge a commanding total of 268.

Ruvindu Gunasekera, the tournament's top-scorer with 207 runs, continued his stellar run with another half-century. Dhanuka Pathirana and Dhaliwal steered the chase after Gunasekera's departure, and with 87 to win with 10 overs to go and seven wickets in hand, Canada were favorites, given the United's short boundaries.

But left-arm medium pacers JJ Smit and Jan Frylinck bowled sensational spells to rip out Canada's middle order. The pair bowled eight of the final ten overs and took four wickets. They were at their best in the final 12 balls. With 28 needed to win, Smit conceded six singles in the 49th. Frylinck began the final over conceding just two singles over the first three balls, effectively clinching victory.

Canada 2nd innings Partnerships

1st20SA WijeyeratneR Gunasekera
2nd52R GunasekeraNR Kumar
3rd41DN PathiranaR Gunasekera
4th76DN PathiranaNS Dhaliwal
5th6DN PathiranaHamza Tariq
6th13Hamza TariqD Heyliger
7th22N DuttaHamza Tariq
8th21N DuttaSS Dhindsa