Matches (15)
ENG v PAK (1)
ENG v PAK (W) (1)
T20WC Warm-up (6)
Vitality Blast (5)
CE Cup (2)
2nd ODI (D/N), Napier, December 14, 2022, Bangladesh Women tour of New Zealand
(44/44 ov) 157/7
(4.4/43 ov, T:156) 14/1

No result


Persistent rain forces Napier ODI to end in no-result

Only 48.4 overs were possible, with New Zealand on 14 for 1 in reply to Bangladesh's 157 for 7 when the game was called off

The players walk off as the rain comes down, New Zealand vs Bangladesh, 2nd women's ODI, Napier, December 14, 2022

Rain played hide and seek the entire day in Napier  •  Getty Images

No result Bangladesh 157 for 7 (Moni 32, Fahima 25, Jonas 2-30) vs New Zealand 14 for 1
Rain had the final say in Napier as the second women's ODI between New Zealand and Bangladesh was washed out after 48.1 overs of play.
Batting first, after rain had reduced the contest to a 44-overs-a-side affair, Bangladesh batted through to reach 157 for 7. In reply, New Zealand lost their captain Sophie Devine to a run-out before the clouds opened up after just 4.1 overs and eventually forced an abandonment.
Bangladesh lost Dilara Akter in the fifth over of their innings to Hayley Jensen, but Sharmin Akhter and Fargana Hoque provided some much-needed resistance. The two held fort for 13.5 overs, adding 36 runs for the second wicket, before Hannah Rowe got rid of Sharmin for 16. Her wicket resulted in a mini collapse as Bangladesh lost Hoque and Lata Mondal, both falling to Fran Jonas, followed by Nigar Sultana.
Ritu Moni and Fahima Khatun then dug in. They stitched a 49-run stand for the sixth wicket. Moni top-scored with 32, hitting a six and a four in her innings, while Fahima scored 25. The two fell in the space of three balls late in the innings, but made sure Bangladesh played out their quota of overs.
New Zealand lead the three-match ODI series 1-0 after taking the opening game by eight wickets. They had earlier swept the T20I series 3-0. The third and final ODI will take place in Hamilton on Saturday.

AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
NZ Women Innings
<1 / 3>

ICC Women's Championship