2nd Semi-Final (N), Melbourne, January 22, 2016, Big Bash League
(18.1/20 ov, T:140) 140/3

Stars won by 7 wickets (with 11 balls remaining)

Scorchers Innings
Stars Innings
Match Details
Perth Scorchers  (20 ovs maximum)
Marcus Harris c Quiney b Worrall1430025.00
Michael Klinger c Stoinis b Zampa4445612197.77
Michael Carberry c †Handscomb b Worrall13121620108.33
Adam Voges (c)c Hilfenhaus b Beer52404860130.00
David Willey c Hussey b Stoinis011000.00
Ashton Agar  b Hilfenhaus67110085.71
Cameron Bancroft not out 1381401162.50
Andrew Tye  b Worrall024000.00
Joel Paris not out 1230050.00
Extras(lb 4, nb 2, w 3)9
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 6.95, 84 Mts)139/7
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Marcus Harris, 0.5 ov), 2-30 (Michael Carberry, 4.5 ov), 3-109 (Michael Klinger, 15.6 ov), 4-109 (David Willey, 16.1 ov), 5-116 (Adam Voges, 17.2 ov), 6-125 (Ashton Agar, 18.5 ov), 7-135 (Andrew Tye, 19.4 ov)
Daniel Worrall402536.25131111
0.5 to MS Harris, poor stroke, is it the pressure? Looks to play a short-arm jab, that one nipped away sharply, he went through with the flat-batted pull and just managed to get a top edge to mid-off. Quiney takes a dolly. The crowd roars.. 4/1
4.5 to MA Carberry, looks to cut, cramped for room, only manages to get a thin edge as the wicketkeeper gleefully accepts a catch. It was a slower delivery too, hint of grip on the surface, the extra bounce did Carberry in. Got to say that was a poor stroke. Scorchers in early trouble. 30/2
19.4 to AJ Tye, that's the way to bowl a yorker, or at least that's what his body language exudes. This one's full and tailing in, he swings across the line, gets a thin inside edge and the ball hits the zinger bails. Tye's stay is short-lived. 135/7
Ben Hilfenhaus402817.00121110
18.5 to AC Agar, he was living dangerously, you got the feeling that it was a matter of time before he fell. This one was full and straight on middle, he walked away to flick it fine, missed it and the ball hit timber.. 125/6
Michael Beer402215.5092000
17.2 to AC Voges, high full toss on off, he swung across the line but could only hit it as far as Hilfenhaus at long on, as easy as they come. 116/5
Evan Gulbis1014014.0013000
Adam Zampa402215.5091010
15.6 to M Klinger, the extra ball has got him a wicket. It was nicely tossed up on middle, spun away a touch, he had already decided well before the bowler delivered that he would go for the slog sweep to clear the shortest boundary, got it nowhere near the middle as the wide long-on fielder settled underneath it to complete an easy catch. A painstaking innings from Klinger comes to an end.. 109/3
Marcus Stoinis302418.0042000
16.1 to DJ Willey, he's gone first ball. Slower and fuller on off, he looks to slog that across the line over long-on, gets the toe end and the man at the edge of the circle runs around to take it easily. David Hussey is a safe catcher.. 109/4
Melbourne Stars  (T: 140 runs from 20 ovs)
Marcus Stoinis lbw b Hogg44415140107.31
Luke Wright c Voges b Willey710151070.00
Kevin Pietersen  b Paris62365952172.22
Peter Handscomb not out 1519310078.94
David Hussey (c)not out 73710233.33
Extras(lb 2, w 3)5
TOTAL18.1 Ov (RR: 7.70, 83 Mts)140/3
Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Luke Wright, 3.5 ov), 2-82 (Marcus Stoinis, 11.3 ov), 3-128 (Kevin Pietersen, 16.5 ov)
Jason Behrendorff402807.00104000
David Willey302217.33102110
3.5 to LJ Wright, that is an excellent catch by the skipper. It was a length ball on middle, he looked to carve it over cover but skims it to Voges who dives to his left to take that one. He specifically came into that position at the start of the over and the move has worked.. 13/1
Andrew Tye302909.6634000
Ashton Agar201507.5010000
Brad Hogg402015.0090010
11.3 to MP Stoinis, appeal for lbw and the umpire doesn't take long to raise the finger. The ball pitched outside off, spun back in sharply, he looked to play across the line, missed it completely. Was caught on the crease and the ball would have skidded on to hit middle.. 82/2
Joel Paris2.1024111.0741110
16.5 to KP Pietersen, what has he done here? He has self-destructed, but the job has been nearly done. Yorker-length delivery on off, changed his grip to play the reverse pull even before the ball was delivered, was cramped for room and couldn't get underneath it as the off stump is pegged back. 128/3
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Melbourne Cricket Ground
TossMelbourne Stars, elected to field first
Player Of The Match
Kevin Pietersen
Series resultMelbourne Stars advanced
Hours of play (local time)19.40 start, First Session 19.40-21.00, Interval 21.00-21.20, Second Session 21.20-22.40
Match days22 January 2016 - night (20-over match)
Geoff Joshua
Sam Nogajski
TV Umpire
Ashley Barrow
Reserve Umpire
Greg Davidson
Match Referee
Peter Marshall
Win Probability
MS 100%
100%50%100%PS InningsMS Innings

Over 19 • MS 140/3

Stars won by 7 wickets (with 11 balls remaining)
Powered by Smart Stats
Stars Innings
<1 / 3>
Big Bash League