Matches (15)
WC Warm-up (3)
Marsh Cup (1)
County DIV1 (5)
County DIV2 (4)
T20WC QLF (2)
Final (N), Mirpur, February 08, 2019, Bangladesh Premier League
(20 ov, T:200) 182/9

Victorians won by 17 runs

Player Of The Match
141* (61) & 2 catches
Player Of The Series
301 runs • 23 wkts

Tamim Iqbal's 141* leads Comilla Victorians to second BPL title

The opener scored more than 70% of his team's runs, setting Dhaka Dynamites a target of 200, which proved too far out of reach despite a blazing start from Rony Talukdar

Tamim Iqbal is ecstatic after scoring a hundred in the BPL final  •  BCB

Tamim Iqbal is ecstatic after scoring a hundred in the BPL final  •  BCB

Comilla Victorians 199 for 3 (Tamim 141*, Shakib 1-45) beat Dhaka Dynamites 182 for 9 (Rony 66, Tharanga 48, Wahab 3-28) by 17 runs
How the game played out
Tamim Iqbal hauled Comilla Victorians onto his back and carried them to their second BPL title. His unbeaten 141 off 61 balls, with eleven sixes and ten fours, put the final too far beyond Dhaka Dynamites, who fell to a 17-run defeat, their second final loss in a row.
Tamim found the perfect time to post his highest T20 score, and also his first hundred in the BPL. It was also the second-highest score in the BPL behind Chris Gayle's unbeaten 146 in the 2017-18 final.
Tamim's six hitting really began in the 11th over, when he slog-swept Shuvagata Hom to move from 39 to 45. Before that, he had hit one six in 28 balls. From there on, he hit ten in 33. No matter if it was Shakib Al Hasan's spin or the pace of Rubel Hossain and Andre Russell, everything pinged off the middle of Tamim's bat and rained into the Mirpur crowd. There were slog-sweeps, clean straight hits, and the pick of them all was an effortless flick off Rubel that flew over square leg.
It was an almost literally single-handed effort from Tamim. Even as he spanked 141 from the 61 balls he faced, the other Victorians who batted today - Evin Lewis, Anamul Haque, Shamsur Rahman and Imrul Kayes - managed 47 off 59 between them. Imrul, who was involved in an unbroken fourth-wicket stand of 100, contributed an unbeaten 17 off 21 balls.
Tamim was particularly devastating against Rubel and Russell, hitting them for 69 off 28 balls, at a strike rate of 246.43.
The Dynamites replied spectacularly too, particularly Rony Talukdar who blasted a 38-ball 66 with six fours and four sixes. Upul Tharanga supported him with 48 off 27 balls, but once their 102-run second-wicket stand ended, Victorians roared back, taking the wickets of Shakib, Rony and Russell soon after to all but end the contest.
When Kieron Pollard also fell in the 16th over, the Dynamites lost their last big-game player. Wahab Riaz's 3 for 28 might be lost amid the Tamim headlines, but his bowling was just as crucial, given the way the Dynamites were going at one stage. He sent down the tight overs just when it mattered for the Victorians.
Turning points
  • After Sunil Narine conceded just two runs in the 16th over, Tamim took 22 runs off the 17th bowled by Russell to give the Victorians some much-needed impetus.
  • Rony Talukdar powered Dynamites to 71 for 1 in their Powerplay, setting them up perfectly in their chase of 200.
  • Andre Russell, who has gone at a strike-rate of 156.91 in the BPL this season, fell with the Dynamites needing 68 off 41 balls.
Star of the day
Tamim scored 70.85% of his side's 199 runs, the second-highest percentage from one batsman in the BPL behind Gayle's 70.87 in last season's final. Tamim took 31 balls to reach his fifty, and only 19 more to get to his hundred. To top it off, his last 38 runs came off just 11 balls. The pacing throughout highlighted the quality of his innings.
The big miss
Nurul Hasan put Tamim down off Qazi Onik in the eighth over, when he was batting on 24. It wasn't a straightforward chance, since Nurul had to dive, but he may have been a little late on it, going with one hand rather than two, and by his standards it seemed a shoddy effort.
Where the teams stand
The Victorians have claimed their second BPL title while the Dynamites have lost their second final in a row, with their last championship coming in 2016.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
Dynamites Innings
<1 / 3>
Bangladesh Premier League