(D/N), Melbourne, February 10, 2010, Ford Ranger Cup
(42.4/44 ov, T:213) 216/5

Victoria won by 5 wickets (with 8 balls remaining) (D/L method)

Player Of The Match
New South Wales INNINGS (50 overs maximum)
Phil Jaques c sub (AC Blizzard) b McGain6065849092.30
Phillip Hughes c Hussey b McGain44911202048.35
Steven Smith c Rogers b McGain817180047.05
Simon Katich (c) b Hodge2530040.00
Moises Henriques c McDonald b Hastings1330300043.33
Dominic Thornely c Quiney b McDonald32315630103.22
David Warner c McDonald b Nannes1619232084.21
Daniel Smith  b Nannes14133020107.69
Mitchell Starc c Hastings b Nannes915131060.00
Nathan Bracken c Rogers b Hastings57120071.42
Josh Hazlewood not out 55900100.00
Extras(b 5, lb 2, nb 1, w 8)16
TOTAL49.3 Ov (RR: 4.52)224
Fall of wickets: 1-90 (Phil Jaques, 19.5 ov), 2-111 (Steven Smith, 27.1 ov), 3-114 (Simon Katich, 28.1 ov), 4-124 (Phillip Hughes, 31.5 ov), 5-143 (Moises Henriques, 36.6 ov), 6-173 (David Warner, 41.3 ov), 7-198 (Dominic Thornely, 44.1 ov), 8-213 (Mitchell Starc, 47.1 ov), 9-215 (Daniel Smith, 47.4 ov), 10-224 (Nathan Bracken, 49.3 ov)
Dirk Nannes1014034.00386000
41.3 to DA Warner, Caught! Another quick short ball, got big on Warner who tried to pull, top edge flew high towards midwicket and McDonald camping on the circle stood under it to take a comfortable catch.. 173/6
47.1 to MA Starc, Caught! Short ball outside off, Starc backs away and tries to pull down the ground, gets a top edge off the toe and floats a catch to mid off where Hastings swallows the chance with ease.. 213/8
47.4 to DLR Smith, Bowled him! Smith feigned to back away, then stepped outside off, trying to scoop to fine leg, Nannes speared full and straight and hit middle stump.. 215/9
James Pattinson301404.66133000
John Hastings7.304826.40204041
36.6 to MC Henriques, Caught! Quicker bouncer ouside off, Henriques tries to pull, gets a top edge, McDonald runs from midwicket to square leg and claims a relatively comfortable catch.. 143/5
49.3 to NW Bracken, Caught! Short of a length, Bracken hammers a pull shot hard and flat but straight to the man at deep square leg andRogers takes a straight forward catch.. 224/10
Andrew McDonald1004714.70263000
44.1 to DJ Thornely, Caught! Thornely tried to loft a drive inside out over cover, he sliced it off the edge to backward point and Quiney held a good catch as it dipped on him.. 198/7
Bryce McGain1003733.70322000
19.5 to PA Jaques, Caught! Jaques tries to loft over the long on rope, didn't get all of it, instead floated a catch down the substitute Blizzard's throat.. 90/1
27.1 to SPD Smith, Caught! McGain threw up a leg break wide of off, Smith went to sweep over midwicket but hit it flat and straight to Rogers who caught it infront of his eyes.. 111/2
31.5 to PJ Hughes, Caught! Hughes advances and tries to slog sweep over midmicket from outside off, gets a top edge towards long on, Hussey runs back from midwicket and takes a superb catch!. 124/4
Brad Hodge903113.44331000
28.1 to SM Katich, Bowled him! Wow. From around the wicket, Hodge tossed it high, drifted it into to Katich who tried to whip over midwicket, missed, it went through the gate and hit off stump. The Blues have come to a grinding halt.. 114/3
Victoria INNINGS (Target: 213 runs from 44 overs)
Chris Rogers c Hughes b Hazlewood917250052.94
Aaron Finch c SPD Smith b Bracken4453894183.01
Brad Hodge c †DLR Smith b Starc513131038.46
David Hussey (c)c Jaques b Bracken45404670112.50
Andrew McDonald not out 4262914067.74
Matthew Wade c Henriques b Thornely5068854173.52
Rob Quiney not out 44410100.00
Extras(lb 3, nb 5, w 9)17
TOTAL42.4 Ov (RR: 5.06)216/5
Fall of wickets: 1-20 (Chris Rogers, 5.5 ov), 2-32 (Brad Hodge, 8.5 ov), 3-110 (David Hussey, 20.2 ov), 4-110 (Aaron Finch, 20.3 ov), 5-211 (Matthew Wade, 41.5 ov)
Nathan Bracken913423.77343040
20.2 to DJ Hussey, Caught! Slower ball wide of off, Hussey lofted a drive inside out over cover, hit it too square and straight down Jaques' throat at deep cover-point.. 110/3
20.3 to AJ Finch, Caught! Bracken on a hat-trick! Short ball banged in, Finch tried to pull but miscued, and ballooned a catch to Steve Smith at mid-on.. 110/4
Josh Hazlewood914414.88343200
5.5 to CJL Rogers, Caught! Fractionally short, Rogers went to pull, didn't middle it, and hit it straight to Hughes at a closish forward square leg. Good catch.. 20/1
Mitchell Starc8.406217.15278001
8.5 to BJ Hodge, Caught behind! Hodge charges and gives himself room, thrashed at a drive, edged, and Smith took a simple catch moving to his right.. 32/2
Steven Smith913604.00334000
Dominic Thornely603115.16182010
41.5 to MS Wade, Caught! Wade tried to end by swiping a length ball thru midwicket and Henriques flung himself to his right to reel in a one-hander.'. 211/5
Moises Henriques10606.0041000
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Melbourne Cricket Ground
TossNew South Wales, elected to bat first
Player Of The Match
Bryce McGain
Hours of play (local time)14.15 start, First Session 14.15-17.45, Interval 17.45-18.15, Second Session 18.15-21.45
Match days10 February 2010 - daynight (50-over match)
Geoff Joshua
Mick Martell
TV Umpire
John Ward
Match Referee
Steve Small
PointsVictoria 4, New South Wales 0
  • 12th Men: AC Blizzard (Victoria) and SNJ O'Keefe (New South Wales)
  • New South Wales innings
  • PA Jaques: 50 from 54 balls (8 x 4)
  • Victoria innings
  • Rain stopped play with Victoria 52/2 off 12.3 overs (Finch 28*, Hussey 4*). A revised target of 213 runs off 44 overs was set (6 overs lost)
Victoria Innings
<1 / 3>
Ford Ranger Cup