2nd ODI, Karachi, Sep 30 1997, India tour of Pakistan
(46.3/47 ov)266/6
India won by 4 wickets (with 3 balls remaining)
Player Of The Match
89 (96)
Pakistan INNINGS (47.2 overs maximum)
Saeed Anwar (c)c & b Chauhan1822412081.81
Shahid Afridi c Kuruvilla b Kulkarni72569191128.57
Ijaz Ahmed c Azharuddin b Kulkarni3154783057.40
Inzamam-ul-Haq not out 74921304180.43
Saleem Elahi c Kulkarni b Chauhan1834621052.94
Moin Khan not out 3133460193.93
Extras(lb 7, nb 5, w 9)21
TOTAL(47.2 Ov, RR: 5.59)265/4
Fall of wickets: 1-55 (Saeed Anwar), 2-126 (Shahid Afridi), 3-148 (Ijaz Ahmed), 4-197 (Saleem Elahi)
Abey Kuruvilla7.205006.81---11
Debasis Mohanty302508.33---00
Rajesh Chauhan1004824.80---24
Nilesh Kulkarni1006626.60---30
Sourav Ganguly1003903.90---00
Robin Singh602303.83---00
Sachin Tendulkar10707.00---00
India INNINGS (target: 266 runs from 47 overs)
Sachin Tendulkar (c)c †Moin Khan b Azhar Mahmood21182421116.66
Sourav Ganguly c Shahid Afridi b Waqar Younis899611711092.70
Vinod Kambli run out (sub [Shahid Nazir])53761027069.73
Mohammad Azharuddin run out (Saeed Anwar)610251060.00
Ajay Jadeja c Ijaz Ahmed b Shahid Afridi819190042.10
Robin Singh not out 3132731196.87
Saba Karim  b Waqar Younis2632542081.25
Rajesh Chauhan not out 83601266.66
Extras(lb 7, nb 5, w 12)24
TOTAL(46.3 Ov, RR: 5.72)266/6
Fall of wickets: 1-71 (Sachin Tendulkar), 2-169 (Sourav Ganguly), 3-179 (Vinod Kambli), 4-185 (Mohammad Azharuddin), 5-195 (Ajay Jadeja), 6-257 (Saba Karim)
Waqar Younis903624.00---21
Aaqib Javed1007307.30---21
Azhar Mahmood905616.22---52
Saqlain Mushtaq9.314604.84---30
Shahid Afridi904815.33---02
National Stadium, Karachi
TossPakistan, elected to bat first
SeriesIndia tour of Pakistan
Player Of The Match
Sourav Ganguly
Sourav Ganguly
Series result3-match series level 1-1
Match numberODI no. 1234
Match daysday (50-over match)
Pakistan Image
Mohammad Aslam
Pakistan Image
Saleem Badar
TV Umpire
Pakistan Image
Match Referee
Sri Lanka Image
Ranjan Madugalle
  • Pakistan innings was closed at 47.2 overs. India restricted to 47 overs, to make the same target. Crowd trouble (4 times) and delay due to third umpiring decisions, and an injury on field resulted in heavy loss of time, and poor over rate. The 4th crowd disruption made the Indian team to walk out, at which stage the innings was closed.