4th Test, Kingston, Apr 28 - May 2 1989, India tour of West Indies
289 & 152
(18.4 ov, target 58)384 & 60/3
West Indies won by 7 wickets
player of the match
Courtney Walsh
West Indies
India 1st INNINGS
Navjot Sidhu c Richards b Walsh11623735813048.95
Arun Lal c Richards b Marshall741721017.07
Ravi Shastri c Richards b Bishop537510013.51
Dilip Vengsarkar (c)c †Dujon b Bishop1248651025.00
Mohammad Azharuddin c Richards b Walsh2528434089.29
Sanjay Manjrekar c Logie b Walsh471361873034.56
Kiran More hit wicket b Walsh648840012.50
Kapil Dev c Ambrose b Walsh2330523076.67
Arshad Ayub c Arthurton b Walsh22351008.70
Chetan Sharma c Arthurton b Ambrose612181050.00
Margashayam Venkataramana not out 037000.00
Extras(b 1, lb 7, nb 31, w 1)40
TOTAL(102.2 Ov, RR: 2.82)289
Fall of wickets: 1-35 (Arun Lal), 2-64 (Ravi Shastri), 3-97 (Dilip Vengsarkar), 4-142 (Mohammad Azharuddin), 4-219, 5-252 (Sanjay Manjrekar), 6-252 (Navjot Sidhu), 7-256 (Kiran More), 8-279 (Kapil Dev), 9-285 (Arshad Ayub), 10-289 (Chetan Sharma)
Curtly Ambrose13.214613.45---00
Ian Bishop2685522.12---00
Courtney Walsh2986262.14---00
Malcolm Marshall1945612.95---00
Viv Richards913604.00---00
Keith Arthurton602604.33---00
West Indies 1st INNINGS
Gordon Greenidge c Arun Lal b Kapil Dev064000.00
Desmond Haynes c Shastri b Kapil Dev1527472055.56
Richie Richardson  b Kapil Dev15631448220049.68
Keith Arthurton c Azharuddin b Sharma2071973028.17
Viv Richards (c)c †More b Kapil Dev11017830513161.80
Gus Logie lbw b Kapil Dev1126272042.31
Jeff Dujon  b Arshad Ayub11611010018.03
Malcolm Marshall  b Kapil Dev023000.00
Curtly Ambrose c †More b Sharma1041530024.39
Ian Bishop not out 634450017.65
Courtney Walsh c Venkataramana b Arshad Ayub4581080.00
Extras(b 10, lb 9, nb 19, w 3)41
TOTAL(123.5 Ov, RR: 3.10)384
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Gordon Greenidge), 2-32 (Desmond Haynes), 3-86 (Keith Arthurton), 4-321 (Viv Richards), 5-343 (Gus Logie), 6-344 (Richie Richardson), 7-344 (Malcolm Marshall), 8-364 (Curtly Ambrose), 9-378 (Jeff Dujon), 10-384 (Courtney Walsh)
Kapil Dev3378462.55---00
Chetan Sharma27210023.70---00
Arshad Ayub39.5129922.49---00
Margashayam Venkataramana1114804.36---00
Ravi Shastri1313402.62---00
India 2nd INNINGS
Navjot Sidhu c Greenidge b Walsh047000.00
Arun Lal c Greenidge b Bishop26851254030.59
Ravi Shastri lbw b Bishop035000.00
Sanjay Manjrekar c Haynes b Walsh41631046065.08
Dilip Vengsarkar (c) b Bishop825492032.00
Mohammad Azharuddin  b Walsh1314263092.86
Kapil Dev c Richards b Bishop1324441054.17
Kiran More c †Dujon b Walsh2650033.33
Arshad Ayub run out 1442733033.33
Chetan Sharma  b Marshall2137581056.76
Margashayam Venkataramana not out 017000.00
Extras(b 1, lb 2, nb 11)14
TOTAL(48.3 Ov, RR: 3.13)152
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Navjot Sidhu), 2-1 (Ravi Shastri), 3-75 (Sanjay Manjrekar), 4-75 (Arun Lal), 5-88 (Mohammad Azharuddin), 6-100 (Dilip Vengsarkar), 7-107 (Kiran More), 8-113 (Kapil Dev), 9-151 (Arshad Ayub), 10-152 (Chetan Sharma)
Curtly Ambrose702002.86---00
Ian Bishop1736143.59---00
Courtney Walsh1773942.29---00
Malcolm Marshall7.302913.87---00
West Indies 2nd INNINGS (target: 58 runs)
Gordon Greenidge c †More b Kapil Dev1213213092.31
Desmond Haynes st †More b Venkataramana3562655056.45
Richie Richardson st †More b Shastri33439008.82
Keith Arthurton not out 026000.00
Gus Logie not out 62201300.00
Extras(lb 3, nb 1)4
TOTAL(18.4 Ov, RR: 3.21)60/3
Fall of wickets: 1-31 (Gordon Greenidge), 2-50 (Richie Richardson), 3-54 (Desmond Haynes)
Kapil Dev922212.44---00
Chetan Sharma201608.00---00
Ravi Shastri72911.29---00
Margashayam Venkataramana0.4010115.00---00
Sabina Park, Kingston, Jamaica
TossWest Indies, elected to field first
SeriesIndia tour of West Indies
Player Of The Match
Courtney Walsh
Courtney Walsh
Player Of The Series
Richie Richardson
Richie Richardson
Series resultWest Indies won the 4-match series 3-0
Match numberTest no. 1120
Match daysday match (5-day match)
Test debut
Margashayam Venkataramana
Margashayam Venkataramana
West Indies Image
David Archer
West Indies Image
Steve Bucknor
Fri, 28 Apr - day 1 -India 1st innings 226/4 (Sanjay Manjrekar 24*, Kiran More 3*, null ov)
Sat, 29 Apr - day 2 -West Indies 1st innings 170/3 (Richie Richardson 85*, Viv Richards 28*, null ov)
Sun, 30 Apr - day 3 -India 2nd innings 32/2 (Arun Lal 15*, Sanjay Manjrekar 14*, null ov)
Mon, 01 May - rest day
Tue, 02 May - day 4 -West Indies 2nd innings 31/1 (Desmond Haynes 17*, null ov)
Wed, 03 May - day 5 -West Indies 2nd innings 60/3 (18.4 ov) - end of match
  • NS Sidhu (1) retired hurt on 116* from 219/4 to 252/5