32nd match (D/N), Hyderabad (Deccan), May 11, 2008, Indian Premier League
(20 ov, T:205) 181/7

KKR won by 23 runs

Kolkata Knight Riders INNINGS (20 overs maximum)
Salman Butt c †Gilchrist b Vaas44-10100.00
Aakash Chopra run out (Gibbs)2423-30104.34
Sourav Ganguly (c)c Singh b Vijaykumar9157-115159.64
David Hussey not out 5729-43196.55
Tatenda Taibu c Ravi Teja b Singh95-10180.00
Laxmi Shukla not out 143-20466.66
Extras(lb 1, nb 1, w 3)5
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 10.20)204/4
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Salman Butt, 0.4 ov), 2-73 (Aakash Chopra, 10.1 ov), 3-175 (Sourav Ganguly, 18.1 ov), 4-190 (Tatenda Taibu, 19.3 ov)
Chaminda Vaas3036112.0054200
0.4 to Salman Butt, Vaas bowls the awayswinger, pitches it on a good length outside off and invites the drive, Butt drives away from his body and gets a thin edge to Gilchrist. 4/1
Paidikalva Vijaykumar302117.0082001
18.1 to SC Ganguly, Vijaykumar gets his man! He bangs it in short, Ganguly makes room and tries to hook it over fine leg, the ball flies off the top edge and RP Singh at fine leg takes it low. 175/3
Scott Styris302809.3393200
RP Singh4059114.7557210
19.3 to T Taibu, fires in a full delivery which comes in with the angle, he makes room and scoops it down to Ravi Teja at cover. 190/4
Venugopal Rao402406.00102010
Sanjay Bangar1010010.0022000
Pragyan Ojha2025012.5042210
Deccan Chargers INNINGS (Target: 205 runs from 20 overs)
Adam Gilchrist (c)†c Ganguly b Dinda2417-50141.17
Herschelle Gibbs c Salman Butt b Dinda57-1071.42
Dwaraka Ravi Teja c †Saha b Umar Gul107-20142.85
Rohit Sharma c Ganguly b Dinda3324-32137.50
Scott Styris c Shukla b Ganguly511-0045.45
Venugopal Rao not out 7142-46169.04
Sanjay Bangar c Chopra b Ganguly24-0050.00
Chaminda Vaas  b Shukla98-00112.50
RP Singh not out 64-10150.00
Extras(lb 8, nb 4, w 4)16
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 9.05)181/7
Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Herschelle Gibbs, 2.2 ov), 2-41 (Adam Gilchrist, 4.6 ov), 3-41 (Dwaraka Ravi Teja, 5.1 ov), 4-63 (Scott Styris, 8.1 ov), 5-95 (Rohit Sharma, 12.2 ov), 6-123 (Sanjay Bangar, 14.4 ov), 7-161 (Chaminda Vaas, 17.6 ov)
Ashok Dinda403338.25126010
2.2 to HH Gibbs, bouncer followed up with a fuller and wide one, Gibbs is tempted to cut and the ball flies high to Salman Butt at deep third man. 12/1
4.6 to AC Gilchrist, pitched on off, goes for the pull once again and is caught at midwicket by Ganguly who points to the bowler in appreciation. 41/2
12.2 to RG Sharma, Dinda varies the pace with an offcutter, pitches it on a good length and Rohit goes for the across the line hoick a little too early as he ends up placing it straight to Ganguly at the edge of the midwicket circle. 95/5
Ishant Sharma302709.0084100
Umar Gul4043110.7593233
5.1 to DB Ravi Teja, first-ball wicket! Gul pitches it outside off and the ball pitches on the seam and deviates away from the right-hander who has a go at it anyway and the edge carries to the keeper. 41/3
Sourav Ganguly402526.25110200
8.1 to SB Styris, Styris edges a slog sweep and three fielders flock under it but Shukla is the first one at midwicket to get to it.. 63/4
14.4 to SB Bangar, Bangar holes out! Ganguly cuts back on the pace and the ball comes on slow to Bangar who tries to clear midwicket, he fails to get the elevation and Chopra takes the catch. 123/6
Murali Kartik302909.6681300
Laxmi Shukla201618.0052001
17.6 to WPUJC Vaas, Vaas makes a little too much room to slog but the ball is too full for that stroke, it lands on the base of legstump and takes it out. 161/7
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Uppal, Hyderabad
TossKolkata Knight Riders, elected to bat first
Player Of The Match
Sourav Ganguly
Hours of play (local time)16.00 start, First Session 16.00-17.20, Interval 17.20-17.40, Second Session 17.40-19.00
Match days11 May 2008 - daynight (20-over match)
Amiesh Saheba
South Africa
Ian Howell
TV Umpire
New Zealand
Billy Bowden
Match Referee
Talat Ali
PointsKolkata Knight Riders 2, Deccan Chargers 0
  • Kolkata Knight Riders innings
  • Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 - 6.0 (Mandatory - 43 runs, 1 wicket)
  • Kolkata Knight Riders: 50 runs in 7.2 overs (44 balls), Extras 0
  • 2nd Wicket: 50 runs in 42 balls (A Chopra 9, SC Ganguly 41, Ex 0)
  • SC Ganguly: 50 off 40 balls (10 x 4)
  • Kolkata Knight Riders: 100 runs in 13.3 overs (81 balls), Extras 3
  • 3rd Wicket: 50 runs in 31 balls (SC Ganguly 29, DJ Hussey 19, Ex 2)
  • Kolkata Knight Riders: 150 runs in 16.5 overs (101 balls), Extras 4
  • DJ Hussey: 50 off 24 balls (4 x 4, 3 x 6)
  • 3rd Wicket: 100 runs in 46 balls (SC Ganguly 48, DJ Hussey 52, Ex 2)
  • Kolkata Knight Riders: 200 runs in 19.6 overs (121 balls), Extras 5
  • Innings Break: Kolkata Knight Riders - 204/4 in 20.0 overs (DJ Hussey 57, LR Shukla 14)
  • Deccan Chargers innings
  • Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 - 6.0 (Mandatory - 55 runs, 3 wickets)
  • Deccan Chargers: 50 runs in 5.3 overs (35 balls), Extras 4
  • Deccan Chargers: 100 runs in 13.1 overs (82 balls), Extras 12
  • Deccan Chargers: 150 runs in 16.4 overs (103 balls), Extras 13
  • Y Venugopal Rao: 50 off 28 balls (3 x 4, 5 x 6)
Chargers Innings
<1 / 3>
Indian Premier League