6th Match, Colombo (SSC), Jul 24 1997, Pepsi Asia Cup
(15/43 ov, target 131)132/1
India won by 9 wickets (with 168 balls remaining)
Player Of The Match
73 (52)
Bangladesh INNINGS (43 overs maximum)
Athar Ali Khan lbw b Tendulkar3369994047.82
Naimur Rahman lbw b Kuruvilla016000.00
Minhajul Abedin c †Karim b Prasad322210013.63
Aminul Islam c Kumble b Singh3057882052.63
Akram Khan (c)c Jadeja b Kumble1124381045.83
Khaled Mashud c Ganguly b Singh1230301040.00
Enamul Haque run out (Ganguly)48190050.00
Mafizur Rahman not out 1530342050.00
Hasibul Hossain lbw b Singh021000.00
Sheikh Salahuddin not out 318230016.66
Extras(lb 15, nb 2, w 2)19
TOTAL(43 Ov, RR: 3.02)130/8
Did not bat: Zakir Hasan 
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Naimur Rahman), 2-12 (Minhajul Abedin), 3-57 (Athar Ali Khan), 4-79 (Aminul Islam), 5-92 (Akram Khan), 6-100 (Khaled Mashud), 7-104 (Enamul Haque), 8-104 (Hasibul Hossain)
Venkatesh Prasad711512.14---11
Abey Kuruvilla602814.66---01
Anil Kumble1031711.70---01
Sourav Ganguly612404.00---00
Sachin Tendulkar501813.60---10
Robin Singh921331.44---00
India INNINGS (target: 131 runs from 43 overs)
Sourav Ganguly not out 73527582140.38
Sachin Tendulkar (c) b Enamul Haque28213650133.33
Mohammad Azharuddin not out 23203830115.00
Extras(b 4, lb 1, nb 1, w 2)8
TOTAL(15 Ov, RR: 8.79)132/1
Fall of wickets: 1-54 (Sachin Tendulkar)
Hasibul Hossain302508.33---02
Zakir Hasan201708.50---00
Sheikh Salahuddin302207.33---20
Enamul Haque3034111.33---00
Mafizur Rahman201608.00---00
Minhajul Abedin201306.50---00
Sinhalese Sports Club Ground, Colombo
TossIndia, elected to field first
SeriesPepsi Asia CupIndia tour of Sri Lanka
Player Of The Match
Sourav Ganguly
Sourav Ganguly
Match numberODI no. 1221
Match daysday (50-over match)
ODI debut
Zakir Hasan
Zakir Hasan
Sri Lanka Image
Pakistan Image
Mohammad Nazir
TV Umpire
Bangladesh Image
Mohammad Asghar
Match Referee
New Zealand Image
John Reid
PointsIndia 2, Bangladesh 0
  • Match commenced sixty minutes after scheduled start, reduced to 47 overs a side. Bangladesh innings closed when rain returned after 43 overs.
  • India required 131 to win in 20 overs to qualify for the final on run rate.
  • India innings: 1x7 ball over (allowed by KT Francis for Sheikh Salahuddin in the 8th over of the innings).