Matches (13)
ENG v IRE (1)
SL v AFG (1)
WI-A in BAN (1)
Karnataka in Namibia (1)
Charlotte Edwards (1)
Vitality Blast (8)
Final, Karachi, April 19, 2013, President's Cup One-Day Tournament
(50 ov, T:284) 251/9

Sui Northern won by 32 runs

Player Of The Match
Asad Ali, SNGCP

SNGPL win President's Cup One-Day tournament

A strong top-order performance, along with Asad Ali's incisive bowling spell, helped SNGPL to a 32-run victory over WAPDA in the President's Cup One-Day tournament final

ESPNcricinfo staff
Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited 283 for 8 (Taufeeq 79, Hafeez 58, Malik 3-45) beat Water and Power Development Authority 251 for 9 (Ayub 66*, Maqsood 57, Asad 4-37) by 32 runs
A strong performance from the Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited top order, combined with Asad Ali's incisive bowling, helped SNGPL take the President's Cup One-Day tournament against Water and Power Development Authority with a 32-run victory in Karachi.
SNGPL were put in to bat and the openers put on a commanding 125-run stand. Once Mohammad Hafeez fell for 58, Azhar Ali came on to score 33 in a 40-run partnership with Taufeeq Umar. Umar Akmal failed again, finishing a dismal tournament where he scored only 79 runs in 6 innings. Further contributions from the captain Misbah ul-Haq (34) and Khurram Shehzad (42) helped SNGPL to an imposing 283 for 8 at the end of their fifty overs. This finished Misbah's glorious run in the tournament, where he averaged 64 and a strike-rate touching 120. WAPDA's Nasir Malik was the most effective of the bowlers, taking 3 for 45.
WAPDA struggled initially in their reply, losing two wickets with just 8 on the board. Rafatullah Mohmand, who had starred in the tournament with three centuries on the trot and an unbeaten 91, was only able to make 7, as WAPDA were on the back foot early on. Sohaib Maqsood (57) and Ali Azmat (39) put on a 100-run stand to help steady the innings. Mohammad Ayub's unbeaten 66 helped keep the team afloat, but wickets continued to tumble around him. Ultimately the required rate got out of hand as they faced 10-11 an over going into the final ten.
Asad Ali took 4 for 37, all of which were bowled, to keep WAPDA under check. WAPDA ended their innings on 251 for 9, giving SNGPL a 32-run victory. Asad Ali finished as the highest wicket-takers list, with 14 wickets in 6 matches at 17.07.
This title marks the third for Misbah ul-Haq this season, where he has also won the Faysal Bank Super Eight T20 and President's Trophy.

AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
WAPDA Innings
<1 / 3>
President's Cup One-Day Tournament
Group A
Group B