3rd Test, Adelaide, Jan 25 - 29 1996, Sri Lanka tour of Australia
502/9d & 215/6d
(96.2 ov, target 401)317 & 252
Australia won by 148 runs
player of the match
Steve Waugh
Australia 1st INNINGS
Mark Taylor (c)c †Kaluwitharana b Vaas2155730138.18
Michael Slater c †Kaluwitharana b Vaas011000.00
David Boon  b Pushpakumara431151712037.39
Mark Waugh c Pushpakumara b Wickramasinghe711371994051.82
Steve Waugh  b Pushpakumara17031642113053.79
Ricky Ponting c †Kaluwitharana b Vaas627310022.22
Ian Healy c Pushpakumara b Dharmasena701191618058.82
Paul Reiffel c Gurusinha b Wickramasinghe561241637045.16
Shane Warne c Pushpakumara b Wickramasinghe3339635084.61
Craig McDermott not out 1516271093.75
Extras(b 5, lb 9, nb 2, w 1)17
TOTAL(157.3 Ov, RR: 3.18, 656 Mts)502/9d
Did not bat: Glenn McGrath 
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Michael Slater), 2-36 (Mark Taylor), 3-96 (David Boon), 4-181 (Mark Waugh), 5-196 (Ricky Ponting), 6-326 (Ian Healy), 7-443 (Steve Waugh), 8-467 (Paul Reiffel), 9-502 (Shane Warne)
Chaminda Vaas421110632.52---00
Ravindra Pushpakumara34412623.70---01
Pramodya Wickramasinghe39.3712033.03---11
Chandika Hathurusingha401503.75---00
Kumar Dharmasena2538013.20---00
Sanath Jayasuriya1324103.15---00
Sri Lanka 1st INNINGS
Chandika Hathurusingha c ME Waugh b Reiffel2863864044.44
Sanath Jayasuriya c †Healy b Reiffel4857827184.21
Asanka Gurusinha c Reiffel b McGrath1744661038.63
Sanjeeva Ranatunga c SR Waugh b McDermott601482033040.54
Romesh Kaluwitharana lbw b Reiffel3135444188.57
Hashan Tillakaratne c †Healy b McGrath651552073041.93
Aravinda de Silva (c)c Taylor b McGrath1945621042.22
Kumar Dharmasena c †Healy b McGrath033000.00
Chaminda Vaas c ME Waugh b Reiffel871210114.28
Pramodya Wickramasinghe  b Reiffel1028430035.71
Ravindra Pushpakumara not out 27110028.57
Extras(b 8, lb 13, nb 7, w 1)29
TOTAL(97.1 Ov, RR: 3.26, 414 Mts)317
Fall of wickets: 1-86 (Sanath Jayasuriya), 2-89 (Chandika Hathurusingha), 3-129 (Asanka Gurusinha), 4-171 (Romesh Kaluwitharana), 5-237 (Sanjeeva Ranatunga), 6-290 (Aravinda de Silva), 7-290 (Kumar Dharmasena), 8-299 (Chaminda Vaas), 9-309 (Hashan Tillakaratne), 10-317 (Pramodya Wickramasinghe)
Craig McDermott2058114.05---02
Glenn McGrath2749143.37---00
Shane Warne2647402.84---00
Paul Reiffel19.143952.03---05
Mark Waugh521102.20---00
Australia 2nd INNINGS
Michael Slater  b Wickramasinghe1534601044.11
Mark Taylor (c) b Pushpakumara1031391032.25
David Boon c †Kaluwitharana b Vaas3566925053.03
Mark Waugh c Tillakaratne b Vaas1244610027.27
Steve Waugh not out 611291815047.28
Ricky Ponting c †Kaluwitharana b Vaas2061642032.78
Ian Healy c Hathurusingha b Pushpakumara4363802068.25
Paul Reiffel not out 1415252093.33
Extras(b 1, lb 1, nb 3)5
TOTAL(73 Ov, RR: 2.94, 304 Mts)215/6d
Fall of wickets: 1-22 (Mark Taylor), 2-36 (Michael Slater), 3-70 (Mark Waugh), 4-75 (David Boon), 5-122 (Ricky Ponting), 6-186 (Ian Healy)
Chaminda Vaas2164432.09---00
Ravindra Pushpakumara1726323.70---00
Pramodya Wickramasinghe1313913.00---02
Kumar Dharmasena2216703.04---01
Sri Lanka 2nd INNINGS (target: 401 runs)
Sanath Jayasuriya c †Healy b SR Waugh11218827214259.57
Chandika Hathurusingha c †Healy b McGrath1446612030.43
Asanka Gurusinha  b Reiffel22828007.14
Sanjeeva Ranatunga c †Healy b SR Waugh651972466032.99
Romesh Kaluwitharana  b SR Waugh027000.00
Hashan Tillakaratne c †Healy b McGrath316170018.75
Aravinda de Silva (c)c Taylor b ME Waugh326300011.53
Kumar Dharmasena c Taylor b SR Waugh216210012.50
Chaminda Vaas c †Healy b McGrath2632465081.25
Pramodya Wickramasinghe  b Warne617120035.29
Ravindra Pushpakumara not out 320200015.00
Extras(b 1, lb 6, nb 9)16
TOTAL(96.2 Ov, RR: 2.61)252
Fall of wickets: 1-51 (Chandika Hathurusingha), 2-70 (Asanka Gurusinha), 3-195 (Sanath Jayasuriya), 4-195 (Romesh Kaluwitharana), 5-199 (Hashan Tillakaratne), 6-208 (Aravinda de Silva), 7-216 (Sanjeeva Ranatunga), 8-225 (Kumar Dharmasena), 9-232 (Pramodya Wickramasinghe), 10-252 (Chaminda Vaas)
Glenn McGrath22.264832.14---00
Paul Reiffel1506014.00---08
Steve Waugh1983441.78---01
Shane Warne27116812.51---00
Mark Waugh411513.75---00
Craig McDermott932002.22---00
Adelaide Oval
TossAustralia, elected to bat first
SeriesSri Lanka tour of Australia
Player Of The Match
Steve Waugh
Steve Waugh
Player Of The Series
Steve Waugh
Steve Waugh
Series resultAustralia won the 3-match series 3-0
Match numberTest no. 1324
Match daysday(5-day match)
West Indies Image
Lloyd Barker
Australia Image
Steve Randell
TV Umpire
Australia Image
Daryl Harper
Match Referee
New Zealand Image
Graham Dowling
Thu, 25 Jan - day 1 -Australia 1st innings 239/5 (Steve Waugh 70*, Ian Healy 21*, 86 ov)
Fri, 26 Jan - day 2 -Sri Lanka 1st innings 80/0 (Chandika Hathurusingha 24*, Sanath Jayasuriya 47*, 16 ov)
Sat, 27 Jan - day 3 -Australia 2nd innings 16/0 (Michael Slater 7*, Mark Taylor 9*, 6 ov)
Sun, 28 Jan - day 4 -Sri Lanka 2nd innings 69/1 (Sanath Jayasuriya 50*, Asanka Gurusinha 2*, 21 ov)
Mon, 29 Jan - day 5 -Sri Lanka 2nd innings 252/10 (96.2 ov) - end of match
  • DC Boon announced that this would be his final Test
  • Scorers: RM Artis (AUS) and T Lowrey (SL)
  • 12th Men: TBA May (AUS) and RS Kalpage (SL).
Day 1
  • Slater out to the first ball he faced
  • Lunch: AUS 2-43 (Boon 21*, ME Waugh 1*)
  • Tea: AUS 3-133 (ME Waugh 46*, SR Waugh 18*)
  • Sri Lankans dropped 4 catches Kaluwitharana dropped ME Waugh and SR Waugh Pushpakumara dropped Boon Tillekaratne dropped ME Waugh
  • Play ended at 7:20pm due to bad light (80 minutes after scheduled close). 4 overs total lost to the weather.
  • Crowd: 9119
Day 2
  • Jayasuriya dropped Healy (25) off Vaas
  • 10 minutes play lost to rain in the 1st session. Scheduled close extended to 6:10pm.
  • SR Waugh out to the first ball of the 3rd session
  • McDermott hit an all-run 5 off the first ball he faced
  • Warne hit 2 consecutive 4s before being caught in the outfield hooking
  • Jayasuriya had scored 20 runs before Hathurusinghe scored his first.
  • Sri Lanka 50 off 8.1 overs (35 minutes).
  • Jayasuriya hit 23 runs off the 11 balls he faced in McDermott's first spell of 5-1-28-0.
  • Crowd: 17277
Day 3
  • Lunch: SL 3-170 (Ranatunga 31*, Kaluwitharana 30*)
  • Tea: SL 5-253 (Tillekeratne 37*, de Silva 8*)
  • Tillekeratne was Healy's 250th catch and 270th dismissal (equal 2nd on all-time list of wicketkeeping dismissals)
  • Crowd: 14533
Day 4
  • Lunch: 86/4 (SR Waugh 3*, Ponting 9*)
  • Tea: 173/5 (SR Waugh 44*, Healy 33*)
  • Sri Lanka set 401 to win in a minimum of 111 overs
  • Healy outright 2nd on wicketkeeping list (271 dismissals)
  • Crowd: 15195
Day 5
  • Lunch 136/2 (Jayasuriya 74*, Ranatunga 34*)
  • Tea was taken upon de Silva's dismissal.
  • Tea 208/6 (Ranatunga 61*)
  • Aggregate Crowd: 63478
  • B&H International Cricketer of the Year: SR Waugh (awarded to the best player in the Australian international season)