Canterbury 198 (Latham 44, Kuggeleijn 3-41, Woodcock 3-22) beat Wellington 137 (Elliott 63, Henry 4-14, McCone 3-25) by 61 runs

A strong bowling effort from Canterbury ensured they beat Wellington by 61 runs in Christchurch to book a place in the Ford Trophy final against Auckland on March 31. Canterbury elected to bat, but lost both their openers with just 36 on the board in the seventh over. Henry Nicholls and Tom Latham combined for a 43-run stand to help keep the innings going. Contributions from Latham (44), Andrew Ellis (35), and Ronnie Hira (23) helped push the score to 198, before the team was dismissed in the 46th ov bowlers were chiefly responsible for restricting their run rate, with Luke Woodcock and Scott Kuggleijn picked up three wickets each for Wellington.

Wellington's chase began abjectly, as they were reduced to 10 for 3 by the new-ball attack of Ryan McCone and Matt Henry. The three batsmen that fell were Luke Ronchi, Michael Papps and Jesse Ryder, all big wickets in their own right. James Franklin and Grant Elliot put together a 57-run stand, before Franklin was bowled by Henry. The pitch at this point, which was coined the "snakepit" by the Canterbury fielders, began to show some bite, as it became tougher to bat on. Grant Elliot's patient innings of 63 off 108 was the only real source of resistance, as the rest of the order succumbed to Canterbury's bowlers. Henry picked up 4 for 14, while McCone picked up 3 for 25, as Wellington were dismissed for 137.