Matches (9)
IND v AUS (1)
CPL 2023 (1)
Asian Games (W) (4)
Championship (W) (1)
Marsh Cup (1)
Malaysia Tri (1)
Final, New Plymouth, February 24, 2018, The Ford Trophy
(32.4/50 ov, T:198) 201/4

Auckland won by 6 wickets (with 104 balls remaining)


Auckland claim the Ford Trophy after Central Districts lose 5 for 7

Auckland won their first List A title since 2012-13, after clinching the final with plenty of wickets and overs to spare

Mark Chapman gets into position to pull  •  Getty Images

Mark Chapman gets into position to pull  •  Getty Images

Just over a month after a batting collapse cost them the Super Smash title, Central Districts lost 5 for 7 in the Ford Trophy final and fell for a total they could not defend at Pukekura Park. Auckland chased down 198 with six wickets and 17.2 overs to spare, to lift their first List A title since 2012-13.
Fast bowler Lockie Ferguson, who was released from New Zealand's ODI squad for the final, took 3 for 28, with support from spinners Mark Chapman (3 for 41) and Tarun Nethula (2 for 24).
Central Districts were bowled out for 197 after electing to bat. Their chances had looked good when their captain Will Young (49) and Tom Bruce (49) lifted them to 128 for 2 with a 101-run stand for the third wicket. Young's dismissal, however, to legpsinner Nethula - who finished the tournament's top wicket-taker with 21 - began a collapse at the end of which Central Districts were 135 for 7. Allrounder Doug Bracewell's 64-ball 40 took them towards 200, but Ferguson ended the innings with Bracewell's wicket in the 47th over.
Auckland opener Glenn Phillips (63) put on 84 for the first wicket with Jeet Raval (47), and 68 for the third with Chapman (47). Those partnerships helped Auckland run down the target in the 30th over. Chapman finished top of the run-charts with 480 in eight innings.

AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
Auckland Innings
<1 / 3>
The Ford Trophy