4th Test, Adelaide, Jan 25 - 28 1997, West Indies tour of Australia
(69.4 ov)130 & 204
Australia won by an innings and 183 runs
player of the match
Michael Bevan
West Indies 1st INNINGS
Sherwin Campbell c †Healy b McGrath01618000.00
Adrian Griffith lbw b Bichel1321343061.90
Shivnarine Chanderpaul c Taylor b Warne2045662044.44
Brian Lara c Blewett b Warne933402027.27
Carl Hooper c ME Waugh b McGrath1723293073.91
Jimmy Adams c & b Warne1064731015.62
Junior Murray c Blewett b Bevan3443566079.06
Ian Bishop c †Healy b Bevan12135004.76
Courtney Walsh (c)c †Healy b Bevan043000.00
Cameron Cuffy c †Healy b Bevan21190018.18
Patterson Thompson not out 1015181166.66
Extras(b 4, lb 1, nb 9)14
TOTAL(47.5 Ov, RR: 2.71, 195 Mts)130
Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Sherwin Campbell), 2-22 (Adrian Griffith), 3-45 (Brian Lara), 4-58 (Shivnarine Chanderpaul), 5-72 (Carl Hooper), 6-113 (Jimmy Adams), 7-117 (Junior Murray), 8-117 (Courtney Walsh), 9-119 (Cameron Cuffy), 10-130 (Ian Bishop)
Glenn McGrath1242121.75---03
Andy Bichel1013113.10---06
Michael Bevan9.523143.15---00
Shane Warne1644232.62---00
Australia 1st INNINGS
Mark Taylor (c)lbw b Bishop1139521028.20
Matthew Hayden st †Murray b Hooper12522635415155.30
Justin Langer c †Murray b Cuffy1943602044.18
Mark Waugh c †Murray b Hooper8215018910154.66
Steve Waugh c Hooper b Chanderpaul2662563041.93
Greg Blewett  b Cuffy991542159064.28
Michael Bevan not out 852633246032.31
Ian Healy c Lara b Thompson1218432066.66
Shane Warne c Hooper b Bishop923350039.13
Andy Bichel c Lara b Walsh721260033.33
Glenn McGrath  b Walsh1470025.00
Extras(b 2, lb 15, nb 20, w 4)41
TOTAL(162.3 Ov, RR: 3.18, 685 Mts)517
Fall of wickets: 1-35 (Mark Taylor), 2-78 (Justin Langer), 3-242 (Mark Waugh), 4-288 (Matthew Hayden), 5-288 (Steve Waugh), 6-453 (Greg Blewett), 7-475 (Ian Healy), 8-494 (Shane Warne), 9-507 (Andy Bichel), 10-517 (Glenn McGrath)
Courtney Walsh37.3610122.69---05
Ian Bishop3469222.70---111
Cameron Cuffy33411623.51---24
Patterson Thompson1608015.00---10
Carl Hooper3178622.77---00
Jimmy Adams802302.87---00
Shivnarine Chanderpaul31210.66---00
West Indies 2nd INNINGS
Sherwin Campbell c Taylor b Bevan2476851031.57
Adrian Griffith c SR Waugh b McGrath17130014.28
Shivnarine Chanderpaul c Taylor b Bevan838501021.05
Brian Lara c †Healy b Warne7814416712254.16
Carl Hooper lbw b Warne45851005052.94
Jimmy Adams c ME Waugh b Bevan0814000.00
Ian Bishop c Bevan b Warne056000.00
Junior Murray c Taylor b Bevan2542433059.52
Courtney Walsh (c)c SR Waugh b Bevan15100020.00
Cameron Cuffy not out 36160050.00
Patterson Thompson c Hayden b Bevan6981066.66
Extras(b 2, lb 5, nb 6)13
TOTAL(69.4 Ov, RR: 2.92, 260 Mts)204
Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Adrian Griffith), 2-22 (Shivnarine Chanderpaul), 3-42 (Sherwin Campbell), 4-138 (Carl Hooper), 5-145 (Jimmy Adams), 6-154 (Ian Bishop), 7-181 (Brian Lara), 8-192 (Courtney Walsh), 9-196 (Junior Murray), 10-204 (Patterson Thompson)
Glenn McGrath1743111.82---05
Andy Bichel841602.00---00
Michael Bevan22.438263.61---01
Shane Warne2046833.40---00
Greg Blewett22000.00---00
Adelaide Oval
TossWest Indies, elected to bat first
SeriesWest Indies tour of Australia
Player Of The Match
Michael Bevan
Michael Bevan
Series resultAustralia led the 5-match series 3-1
Match numberTest no. 1352
Match daysday(5-day match)
Test debut
Adrian Griffith
Adrian Griffith
Andy Bichel
Andy Bichel
England Image
David Shepherd
Australia Image
Steve Randell
TV Umpire
Australia Image
Daryl Harper
Match Referee
England Image
Raman Subba Row
Sat, 25 Jan - day 1 -Australia 1st innings 139/2 (Matthew Hayden 66*, Mark Waugh 31*, null ov)
Sun, 26 Jan - day 2 -Australia 1st innings 434/5 (Greg Blewett 91*, Michael Bevan 47*, null ov)
Mon, 27 Jan - day 3 -West Indies 2nd innings 154/6 (Brian Lara 65*, null ov)
Tue, 28 Jan - day 4 -West Indies 2nd innings 204/10 (69.4 ov) - end of match
Day 1
  • PIC Thompson advanced his First-class batting aggregate from 8 runs to 18 runs (16th innings, 5th not out)
Day 3
  • SL Campbell hit 1 five
Day 4
  • PIC Thompson further advanced his First-class aggregate to 24 runs, 14 of them in boundaries against SK Warne in this match
  • Total Attendance: 68,435
  • The 3rd largest innings defeat of the West Indies by any country
  • MA Taylor becomes the first Australian captain to win a series against the West Indies twice