Final (D/N), Lahore, Mar 17 1996, Wills World Cup
(46.2/50 ov, target 242)245/3
Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets (with 22 balls remaining)
Player Of The Match
107* (124), 3/42 & 2 catches
Player Of The Series
221 runs • 7 wkts
Australia INNINGS (50 overs maximum)
Mark Taylor (c)c Jayasuriya b de Silva74831098189.15
Mark Waugh c Jayasuriya b Vaas1215291080.00
Ricky Ponting  b de Silva4573902061.64
Steve Waugh c de Silva b Dharmasena1325320052.00
Shane Warne st †Kaluwitharana b Muralitharan2540040.00
Stuart Law c de Silva b Jayasuriya2230430173.33
Michael Bevan not out 3649582073.46
Ian Healy  b de Silva2320066.66
Paul Reiffel not out 1318210072.22
Extras(lb 10, nb 1, w 11)22
TOTAL(50 Ov, RR: 4.82)241/7
Fall of wickets: 1-36 (Mark Waugh), 2-137 (Mark Taylor), 3-152 (Ricky Ponting), 4-156 (Shane Warne), 5-170 (Steve Waugh), 6-202 (Stuart Law), 7-205 (Ian Healy)
Pramodya Wickramasinghe703805.42---20
Chaminda Vaas613015.00---00
Muthiah Muralidaran1003113.10---10
Kumar Dharmasena1004714.70---01
Sanath Jayasuriya804315.37---50
Aravinda de Silva904234.66---30
Sri Lanka INNINGS (target: 242 runs from 50 overs)
Sanath Jayasuriya run out 97910128.57
Romesh Kaluwitharana c Bevan b Fleming613270046.15
Asanka Gurusinha  b Reiffel65991196165.65
Aravinda de Silva not out 10712417613086.29
Arjuna Ranatunga (c)not out 47377241127.02
Extras(b 1, lb 4, nb 1, w 5)11
TOTAL(46.2 Ov, RR: 5.28)245/3
Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Sanath Jayasuriya), 2-23 (Romesh Kaluwitharana), 3-148 (Asanka Gurusinha)
Glenn McGrath8.212803.36---00
Damien Fleming604317.16---40
Shane Warne1005805.80---11
Paul Reiffel1004914.90---00
Mark Waugh603505.83---00
Steve Waugh301505.00---01
Michael Bevan301204.00---00
Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
TossSri Lanka, elected to field first
SeriesWills World CupSri Lanka tour of Pakistan
Player Of The Match
Aravinda de Silva
Aravinda de Silva
Player Of The Series
Sanath Jayasuriya
Sanath Jayasuriya
Series resultSri Lanka won the 1995/96 Wills World Cup
Match numberODI no. 1083
Match daysdaynight (50-over match)
England Image
David Shepherd
West Indies Image
Steve Bucknor
TV Umpire
South Africa Image
Cyril Mitchley
Match Referee
West Indies Image
Clive Lloyd
  • Jayasuriya named player of the tournament after the 2nd semi final.
  • MA Taylor and RT Ponting 101, record 2nd wicket partnership in a World Cup final.
  • MA Taylor 74, highest score by an Australian captain in any World Cup match.
  • SK Warne, 1st player to be stumped in a World Cup final (by RS Kaluwitharana).
  • PA de Silva 107*, 3rd ever 100 in a World Cup final. (Previous two: CH Lloyd 102 in 1975, IVA Richards 138* in 1979).
  • Sri Lanka least wickets lost (3) in any World Cup final.
  • PA de Silva, man of the match for an unbeaten 107, 3 wickets, and 2 catches (most runs, most wickets, and equal most catches in the match).
  • Sri Lanka are the 1st host country to win a World Cup, and the 1st country to win a World Cup final batting second.
  • Sri Lanka win their 1st World Cup after only winning a total of 4 matches in the previous 5 World Cups.
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions