Rogers to captain Prime Minister's XI

Chris Rogers drives square Getty Images

Test opener Chris Rogers will captain the Prime Minister's XI against England in Canberra this Wednesday after Michael Hussey was withdrawn from the match due to a calf injury. Hussey was originally named to lead the side, but picked up the injury while playing for the Sydney Thunder in the BBL on Friday.

"It's a great honour for me to be selected as captain of the Prime Minister's XI to take on England," Rogers said. "This is an important fixture on the Australian cricketing calendar and is steeped in tradition. I'm looking forward to following in the footsteps of Ricky Ponting, Brett Lee and others in leading this PM's XI under lights at Manuka Oval."

Prime minister Tony Abbott said: "It is disappointing that Mike Hussey won't be available to take his place as Captain on Wednesday but I wish him a speedy recovery from his injury. I am pleased that Chris Rogers has accepted the invitation to take Mike's place as captain. Chris has a wealth of international and domestic experience and after a successful Test series he is well placed to lead the team."

Rogers will be joined in the side by Glenn Maxwell and Pat Cummins, both of whom were named in Australia's World Cup squad on Sunday. The Prime Minister's XI game is England's second warm-up ahead of the one-day tri-series; they are due to play an ACT Invitational XI in Canberra on Monday.

Prime Minister's XI Chris Rogers (capt), Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Matt Condon, Pat Cummins, Jake Doran (wk), Peter Handscomb, Simon Mackin, Glenn Maxwell, David Moody, Lega Siaka, Mac Wright (12th man).