In what was the talking point of the second day's play, AB de Villiers was adjudged out despite the ball pitching twice before reaching him.

After miscuing an attempted pull back to an equally surprised Mohammad Ashraful, de Villiers stood his ground, convinced that he wasn't out. Many in the visiting dressing room shared his confidence. But after taking his own sweet time over the decision, Steve Bucknor sent de Villiers towards the pavilion.

Bucknor has been in the news for the wrong reasons for a while now, but this time he was clearly in the right. Law 24, section 6 states that the umpire shall call a no-ball only if it bounce more than twice before reaching the popping crease. The shocker that Ashraful tossed up bounced only twice, making it a perfectly legal, though extremely bizarre, dismissal.

Graeme Smith, sitting with a few of his team-mates behind the boundary line, didn't hide his displeasure at the decision. de Villiers, who was batting on 46, began his walk back to the pavilion after having a word with the umpires.

However, de Villiers later admitted he knew the Law. "I was aware of the rule but I was hoping for someone to call it a no-ball or whatever," he said. "It is the first time in my career that I have been dismissed in such a fashion."

Click here for a list of bizarre dismissals