At Sydney, January 25 (day/night). Australia won by 35 runs. Toss: Australia.

Australia wrapped up the finals 2-1, the first time they had come from behind to win this competition since 1980-81, the year of the Chappell under-arm incident. Their triumph came on the pitch used two days earlier, despite South African objections that this would assist the Australian spinners.

Once again, Boon was the mainstay of Australia's total, while Mark Waugh contributed a flowing 60 from 53 balls. When South Africa batted, Peter Kirsten was given out by the third umpire in the closest of run-out decisions, and they lost Cronje even more cruelly the same way when McDermott touched a Gary Kirsten straight-drive into the stumps. South Africa never looked likely to recover from 26 for three: Rhodes top-scored again before becoming Warne's 22nd wicket of the tournament. Border, captaining Australia for the 100th time in World Series matches, bowled the last over and was then chaired from the field after what turned out to be his last home one-day international before his retirement.

Player of the Finals: M. E. Waugh. Attendance: 37,722.