Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui will become New Zealand's ninth Test venue after being awarded the opening match of the two-Test series against England in November.

A regular and popular fixture on the limited-overs scene, the ground has now been handed the marquee match ahead of established venues Wellington and Christchurch who will host the two-Test series against India in February and March. The second Test of the England series will be held at Seddon Park in Hamilton.

New Zealand Cricket confirmed their home fixture list on Friday with the international season beginning on November 1 with the first of five T20Is against England in Christchurch.

After the visit of England, the men's team head over to Australia for a three-Test series which takes in the Boxing Day and New Year Tests before returning home for a full tour by India which includes five T20Is and three ODIs alongside the two Tests.

The men head back across the Tasman in mid-March for a three-match one-day series which had originally been penciled in for January following the Tests before a Cricket Australia fixture crunch involving the BCCI meant it had to be moved to the back end of the season.

Australia then make a trip over for three T20Is which conclude the New Zealand season.

The women's team will face South Africa in January and February across three ODIs and five T20Is, the latter providing preparation for the T20 World Cup in Australia.

Subject to final approval, Eden Park in Auckland will host four consecutive limited-overs matches across four days in late January with the men facing India in T20Is on January 24 and 26 and the women playing South Africa in ODIs on the Outer Oval on the 25th and 27th

"We're simply delighted with the way it's all fitted together," David White, the NZC CEO said. "We're particularly thrilled for all those involved in securing Bay Oval as New Zealand's ninth Test venue. A lot of people have worked hard for this recognition and I'm sure the venue will continue to go from strength to strength."

"We take our hats off to Eden Park," he added. "They've really come to the party; obtaining resource consents, offering compelling commercial terms and a reduction in match-day costs, and consistently preparing high quality wickets and outfield".

"This is a notified consent process and I'd really encourage the cricket community to make submissions in support of the game - which is scheduled for India's Republic Day and is shaping up to be a wonderful occasion."

New Zealand's home summer

Men's series v England

November 1: 1st T20I, Christchurch
November 3: 2nd T20I, Wellington (Westpac)
November 5: 3rd T20I, Nelson
November 8: 4th T20I, Napier
November 10: 5th T20I, Auckland
November 21-25: 1st Test, Mount Maunganui
November 29-December 32: 2nd Test, Hamilton

Men's series v India

January 24: 1st T20I, Auckland
January 26: 2nd T20I, Auckland
January 29: 3rd T20I, Hamilton
January 31: 4th T20I, Wellington (Westpac)
February 2: 5th T20I, Mount Maunganui
February 5: 1st ODI, Hamilton
February 8: 2nd ODI, Auckland
February 11: 3rd ODI, Mount Maunganui
February 21-February 25: 1st Test, Wellington (Basin Reserve)
February 29-March 4: 2nd Test, Christchurch

Women's series v South Africa

January 25: 1st ODI, Auckland (Outer Oval)
January 27: 2nd ODI, Auckland (Outer Oval)
January 30: 3rd ODI, Hamilton
February 2: 1st T20I, Mount Maunganui
February 6: 2nd T20I, Hamilton
February 9: 3rd T20I, Wellington (Basin Reserve)
February 10: 4th T20I, Wellington (Basin Reserve)
February 13: 5th T20I, Dunedin

Men' series v Australia

March 24: 1st T20I, Dunedin
March 27: 2nd T20I, Auckland
March 29: 3rd T20I, Christchurch