Matches (16)
T20 World Cup (4)
IND v SA [W] (1)
WI Academy in IRE (1)
CE Cup (4)
T20 Blast (6)
What They Said About

'Ridiculous waste of time and wrong decision'

In five minutes, Nathan Lyon was twice ruled not-out, controversially. The Twitter world did not hold back

Nathan Lyon's attempt at sweeping Mitchell Santner ended with Kane Williamson catching the ball at gully, and New Zealand appealed immediately. Umpire S Ravi ruled not-out, but Brendon McCullum reviewed the decision because New Zealand thought the ball had hit the top edge, lobbed off Lyon's shoulder and been caught. Drama ensued.
Hot Spot showed a faint mark on the edge of Lyon's bat and there appeared to be some deviation, but the third umpire Nigel Llong ruled that there wasn't enough conclusive evidence to overturn the decision because of unfavourable camera angles and real-time snicko indicating no edge.
To make matters worse, Lyon had started walking off after seeing the Hot Spot replay on the big screen at the Adelaide Oval.
Because there was no evidence to suggest an edge, Llong even considered whether Lyon could have been lbw.
However, that didn't work too well.
Though the on-field umpires have had most of their decisions upheld when reviewed in this series.
On television, Llong was heard suggesting to Ravi that the Hot Spot mark could have been caused by anything, and that he couldn't be sure it was from Lyon edging the ball.
There were a few jokes around Lyon's stand on walking.
But it was clear that the decision had an impact on the match.