Shoaib Akhtar selected for one-day Pentangular

Pakistan's World Twenty20 squad has been hit by a spate of injuries during the rigorous training camp leading up to the tournament, but captain Shahid Afridi assures that there is "nothing serious"

Cricinfo staff
Mohsin Khan: "Younis [Khan] is not in the country, while [Mohammad] Yousuf has already announced his retirement"  •  AFP

Mohsin Khan: "Younis [Khan] is not in the country, while [Mohammad] Yousuf has already announced his retirement"  •  AFP

Shoaib Akhtar has been selected to play in the one-day Pentagular Cup that begins in Lahore on April 17, while Mohammad Yousuf, Younis Khan, Shoaib Malik and Rana Naved-ul-Hasan do not feature in any of the five teams.
"The event will help the selectors pick some talented boys from it as feedback for the national side which has some challenging tasks ahead, including the Asia Cup and six Test matches in England, soon after the World Twenty20," chief selector Mohsin Khan told Dawn after announcing the teams for the tournament.
Younis and Yousuf were banned indefinitely by the PCB following Pakistan's disastrous tour of Australia. Yousuf has since announced his retirement from the game. Malik and Naved-ul-Hasan are serving one-year bans. Mohsin said that these players missed out since they were not available.
"Younis is not in the country, while Yousuf has already announced his retirement. Similarly, Naved, who has left to play county cricket, and Malik [who is in India for his wedding] are not available," Mohsin said.
Federal Areas Leopards: Umair Khan, Raheel Majeed, Umar Amin, Babar Naeem, Bazid Khan (capt), Usman Saeed, Naveed Ashraf, Naveed Malik, Rao Iftikhar Anjum, Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Rameez, Shahzad Azam, Yasim Murtaza, Ammad Wasim, Naeem Anjum; Reserves: Shoaib Khaliq, Muzammil Nizam, Jamal Anwar.
Balochistan Bears: Taufiq Umar, Abid Ali, Kashif Siddique, Rameez Alam, Saeed Anwar Junior, Kashif Naved, Taimoor Khan, Rizwan Haider, Arun Lal, Nazar Hussain, Abdur Rauf (capt), Mohammad Irfan, Zulfiqar Babar, Jalat Khan, Gulraiz Sadaf; Reserves: Ata-ur-Rehman (wk), Ansar Javed, Taimoor Ali.
Punjab Stallions: Imran Farhat (capt), Nasir Jamshed, Azhar Ali, Naeemuddin, Aamer Sajjad, Mohammad Ayub, Usman Arshad Zeeshan Butt, Qaiser Abbas, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Talha, Imran Ali, Asad Ali, Abdur Rehman, Zulqarnain Haider (wk); Reserves: Mohammad Salman, Bilawal Bhatti, Sami Aslam.
Sind Dolphins: Khurram Manzoor, Asad Shafiq, Shahzaib Hassan, Faisal Iqbal (capt), Shaharyar Ghani, Hasan Raza, Saeed bin Nasir, Aqeel Anjum, Tabish Khan, Tanvir Ahmed, Anwar Ali, Lal Kumar, Danish Kaneria, Mohammad Sami, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk); Reserves: Azam Hussain, Junaid Ilyas, Mir Ali Talpur.
NWFP Panthers: Yasir Hameed (captain), Imran Nazir, Riffatullah Mohmand, Adnan Raees, Azam Jan, Khalid Usman, Wajid Ali, Sajjad Ahmed, Junaid Khan, Armaghan Elahi, Shakeel-ur-Rehman, Sohail Khan, Yasir Shah, Zohaib Khan, Ahmed Said (wk); Reserves: Imran Khan, Mehran Ibrahim, Israrullah.