Cricket South Africa (CSA) has decided to allow the current South African Test squad to turn out for their domestic teams between the second and third Tests against Australia. Apart from Graeme Smith and Lonwabo Tsotsobe (injured) and Dale Steyn (rested), the entire 12-man squad will be released for the next round of SuperSport Series matches from next Thursday.

Jacques Kallis, who copped a nasty blow on the chin from Mitchell Johnson on day two of the ongoing Test in Durban, will play as a batsman only.

The next round of matches includes the Titans playing the Warriors at SuperSport Park, the Highveld Lions up against the Eagles at the Wanderers, and the Dolphins at home to the Cobras.

"The suggestion was made to us by national coach Mickey Arthur and national captain Graeme Smith and we, as the selectors, thought it was an excellent idea," said the selection convener Mike Procter.

CSA will announce the squad for the third and final Test against Australia as well as the squad for the two Twenty20 internationals at the end of the Durban affair.