Former Sri Lanka fast bowler Kapila Wijegunawardene has been named the chairman of Sri Lanka's new four-member selection committee, replacing Sanath Jayasuriya.

Two former wicket-keepers Amal Silva and Brendon Kuruppu, and middle-order batsman Hemantha Wickremaratne were the other members.

The new committee replaced the five-member panel headed by Jayasuriya that resigned last Friday after serving for two years. Following Sri Lanka's quarter-final exit from the 2015 World Cup, Sports Minister Navin Dissanayake dissolved the Sri Lanka Cricket administration and appointed an interim committee headed by former Sri Lanka Test batsman Sidath Wettimuny for an indefinite period.

At a media conference held soon afterwards both the Minister and Wettimuny had expressed the view that fresh thinking was needed in selections which led to Jayasuriya and his committee tending their resignation.