January 9, 2003

U-19 girls clinch national title

The Konica Queensland Under-19 women's team today gained a fitting reward for winning the State's first National Under-19 title with six players named in the Australian team to play England next week.

Queensland beat NSW in the Final today in Canberra to finish the championships undefeated and claim the Betty Wilson Shield for the first time, with NSW having won the past six titles.

The performance saw six Queenslanders - captain Belinda Matheson, right-hand bat Kasee Marxsen, pace bowler Rikki-Lee Rimmington, wicket-keeper Jodie Purves, pace bowler Kirsten Pike and allrounder Reanna Browne - named in the Australian Under-19 team to play England Under-19 at Bradman Oval in Bowral next week.

A magnificent 114 from 127 balls from Matheson was the cornerstone of Queensland's win, as the Konica Queensland Fire allrounder marshalled her team's pursuit of NSW's total of 202 from their 50 overs.

Queensland reached the target with five overs to spare, finishing with 5-203 from 44.2 overs.

Today's victory was the second success at national level in as many seasons for coach Joanne Broadbent, with the former Australian batter also in charge of the Konica Queensland Under-17 team that won the State's first national women's cricket title in any age group last season.

Marxsen set a new championship aggregate record for Queensland, finishing with 277 runs, while Rimmington was Queensland's leading wicket-taker with 11 dismissals.

Australian Under-19 Women's Championship Final, Manuka Oval, Canberra: NSW 202 in 50 overs (R Browne 2-20 from 4, L Bates 2-28 from 7, K Pike 1-26 from 10, B Matheson 1-32 from 10) v Queensland 5-203 in 44.2 overs (B Matheson 114, J Purves 25, K Marxsen 16, A Christie 14no, R Browne 14no). Qld won by 5 wickets.