Richards and Burke dropped from list June 2, 2006

NSW name spin-friendly contract squad

Cricinfo staff

Stuart MacGill will have plenty of company at NSW training next season © Getty Images

New South Wales have confirmed the strength of their spin-bowling contingent by naming five slow men alongside Stuart MacGill in their contract list for next summer. The Blues have been the highest profile movers in off-season transfers with the addition of Beau Casson from Western Australia and Queensland's Nathan Hauritz, and the pair joins the queue that includes Jason Krejza, Aaron O'Brien and Stephen O'Keefe.

While the squad is spin friendly, the selectors have also recognised the grade performances of Scott Coyte, Tim Lang and Grant Roden, who have all earned their first contracts, and given two rookie spots to the Australia Under-19 batsmen Usman Khawaja and David Warner. Matthew Phelps and Graham Thorpe head the departure list after retiring while Corey Richards, the former Australia XI batsman, and Jarrad Burke were de-listed.

Roden made his ING Cup debut against Tasmania in 2005-06 and claimed 28 Cricket Australia Cup victims at 15.17, including two ten-wicket hauls. Coyte, a 21-year-old right-arm fast bowler, took 59 wickets at an average of 15.46 in the grade competition last year while Lang, an allrounder, has been a consistent performer in the club ranks.

Nine New South Wales players received Cricket Australia contracts and do not appear on the state list. They are Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark, Michael Clarke, Brad Haddin, Phil Jaques, Simon Katich, Brett Lee, Glenn McGrath and Stuart MacGill.

Squad Aaron Bird, Doug Bollinger, Mark Cameron, Beau Casson, Ed Cowan, Scott Coyte, Murray Creed, Nathan Haurtiz, Moises Henriques, Jason Krejza, Grant Lambert, Tim Lang, Greg Mail, Matthew Nicholson, Aaron O'Brien, James Packman, Grant Roden, Craig Simmons, Daniel Smith, Dominic Thornely.

Rookies Tom Cooper, Peter Forrest, John Hastings, Usman Khawaja, Stephen O'Keefe, Martin Paskal, David Warner.