Former Victoria fast man joins Redbacks June 6, 2008

Allan Wise signs with South Australia

Cricinfo staff

Allan Wise will be part of South Australia's attack next year © Getty Images

Allan Wise, the left-arm fast bowler, has left Victoria to join South Australia for 2008-09. The recruitment of Wise in the second round of contract offers completes a long list of changes to the Redbacks' squad for next season.

Wise joins his former Bushrangers team-mate Michael Klinger in moving to Adelaide, while the side last month also signed Tom Cooper and Aaron O'Brien from New South Wales. Their biggest coup was picking up Younis Khan, the Pakistan Test batsman.

"We have great faith in our talented young players and we have an obligation to nurture and develop them so they have every chance of success," Mark Sorell, the coach, said. "And we have an obligation to the cricket community to build a competitive state side.

"It is no coincidence that the average age of players currently on the Cricket Australia contract list is 29 and that successful state sides such as Victoria dominate the domestic competition with squads with similar age profiles. With the retirement of [Greg] Blewett, [Darren] Lehmann, [Matthew] Elliott and [Jason] Gillespie last season the average age of the Redbacks squad lowered to 24. I have been looking for players in 27 to 30-plus age group."

Wise, 29, battled to get a full-time spot in Victoria's strong attack in the past few seasons and in his 29 first-class appearances he has 89 wickets at 27.26. While South Australia found space for plenty of new recruits there was no room for Nathan Adcock, last year's captain, in the second round of offers.

Squad Cullen Bailey, Cameron Borgas, Daniel Christian, Mark Cleary, Tom Cooper, Mark Cosgrove, Dan Cullen, Callum Ferguson, Peter George, Daniel Harris, Michael Klinger, Graham Manou, Aaron O'Brien, Tom Plant, Gary Putland, Paul Rofe, Shaun Tait (Cricket Australia contract), Allan Wise, Younis Khan.

Rookies Jake Brown, Andy Delmont, Jason Donnelly, Jake Haberfield, Chadd Sayers, James Smith.