Australian news June 14, 2011

Tri-series returns to Australia

ESPNcricinfo staff

India's visit to Australia in 2011-12 has ushered in the return of the limited overs tri-series and the reinstatement of the Australia Day Test match at Adelaide Oval.

The summer from which Cricket Australia makes the lion's share of its total income, via the sale of television rights for India matches, features two Tests against New Zealand in December, and four against the Indian tourists, starting on Boxing Day at the MCG.

Sydney, Perth and Adelaide will round out the Test summer, before Sri Lanka arrive to be the third team in the revived triangular tournament.

Other notable fixture choices include the Sydney Olympic Stadium's elevation to international status for the first time, to host a Twenty20 international between Australia and India on February 1, while Bellerive Oval will welcome the New Zealand tourists for the second Test of the Trans-Tasman series.

The tri-series, which was last seen in Australia in 2007-08, has been redeployed as a way of providing the requisite number of matches for subcontinental television rights, and pits the world's top three limited overs sides - Australia, the World Cup champion India and the finalist Sri Lanka - against one another.

"ICC Cricket World Cup winner India is also the number one-ranked Test team in the world at the moment," said James Sutherland, the Cricket Australia chief executive. "Sri Lanka has also been in great form as we saw in the World Cup, while we know New Zealand is always a formidable opponent that thrives when playing Australia.

"With the commencement of the ICC World Test Championship we know that every Test win is vital and the Australian team will be keen to start the home season positively against New Zealand."

Australia's November series in South Africa and the late arrival of the Indian touring party means the international summer will stretch well into March, again leaving CA to battle with the onset of the football season and its various codes, for crowds and television ratings.

As has become customary, India will have only one tour warm-up match before the first Test, while New Zealand have not been granted any.

Test Series

December 1 - 5: Australia v New Zealand, Brisbane

December 9 - 13: Australia v New Zealand, Hobart

December 26 - 30: Australia v India, Melbourne

January 3 - 7: Australia v India, Sydney

January 13 - 17: Australia v India, Perth

January 24 - 28: Australia v India, Adelaide

Twenty20 Internationals

February 1: Australia v India, 1st Twenty20, Sydney

February 3: Australia v India, Melbourne

Limited Overs Series

February 5: Australia v India, Melbourne

February 8: India v Sri Lanka, Perth

February 10: Australia v Sri Lanka, Perth

February 12: Australia v India, Adelaide

February 14: India v Sri Lanka, Adelaide

February 17: Australia v Sri Lanka, Sydney

February 19: Australia v India, Brisbane

February 21: India v Sri Lanka, Brisbane

February 24: Australia v Sri Lanka, Hobart

February 26: Australia v India, Sydney

February 28: India v Sri Lanka, Hobart

March 2: Australia v Sri Lanka, Melbourne

March 4: 1st Final, Brisbane

March 6: 2nd Final, Adelaide

March 8: 3rd Final, Adelaide

Tour matches

December 18 - 21, CA Chairman's XI v India, Manuka Oval

TBC, PM's XI v Sri Lanka, Manuka Oval