ICC news May 11, 2011

Cricket Committee suggests qualifiers for 2015 WC


In what could be a major boost to Associate teams, the ICC Cricket Committee has recommended there be a qualifying process for the 2015 World Cup after a two-day meeting at Lord's. Though the recommendations are far from binding, the development will be warmly received by the nations who had seemingly been locked out of the tournament by the ICC's initial decision to limit the tournament to 10 teams.

"It's excellent news that another group of people have put their support behind the need for a qualifying process," Warren Deutrom, the Cricket Ireland CEO, told ESPNcricinfo. Trent Johnston, the former Ireland captain, was the Associate representative on the cricket committee and posted his reaction on Twitter. "Unanimous decision by ICC Cricket Committee to recommend to the Chief Exec Committee there be a qualifier for CWC 2015. A great result!"

The Associates were given a lifeline when ICC President Sharad Pawar requested that the tournament's composition be reassessed at the ICC's annual conference in Hong Kong at the end of June in response to strong and widespread criticism. The Cricket Committee's recommendation, which was one of a host of issues discussed at the meeting, could well represent a significant step forward to them.

The logistics of how the qualifying could work are not yet clear and could either be a qualifying tournament or by use of the one-day rankings. Ireland are currently ranked 10th above Zimbabwe. Dave Richardson, the ICC general manager of cricket, did suggest that using the rankings to determine qualification for major events could help add context to one-day internationals.

The matter will now be passed on to the Chief Executives' Committee (CEC) for approval before finally being presented to the ICC Executive Board for approval. As such, any recommendations made by the Cricket Committee will not take effect until ratified and/or approved by the CEC and the Board, both of which are scheduled to meet in Hong Kong from June 26 to 30.

At its meeting on April 4, two days after the World Cup final, the ICC board had decided to allow only the ten full members in the 2015 edition to be hosted in Australia and New Zealand, a decision greeted with incredulity by both the boards and cricketers of several Associate nations.

Liam Brickhill and Andrew McGlashan are an assistant editors at ESPNcricinfo

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Anneeq on May 14, 2011, 19:07 GMT

    I think Haroon Lorgart should be sacked,the guy wanted to restrict cricket's global presence. Why on Earth would u want to do that? We fans want the world to love the beautiful game and he just wants to take us back to the 90s and run an 10 team gentleman's club, NOT the guy that should be running a world cricketing body! For 2015 there should be 12 teams with just the associates qualifying and Bangladesh and Zim getting a free pass for the last time. 50 over cricket should aspire to have 16 teams, anymore will make too long a tournament. So after 2015 top 6 full members should automatically qualify and the last 10 places should be played out over a 6 month period between the last 6 ranked full members, 3 affilliates who pre qualified and the associates for the last 10 places. This qualifier should have a league format where the teams play each other home and away, thisl bring the likes of Chris Gayle to Dublin and give the locals exposure to world class players.

  • Terry on May 14, 2011, 5:15 GMT

    Whilst I would prefer a larger tournament (such as 16 teams, two groups of 8, being top 8 group A, next 8 group B), I recommend in this situation that ICC auto qualify Aust & NZ (hosts) and top 6 teams on rankings (exc hosts), using the 3 year ODI tournament as qualifiers. The final 2 spots would be decided by Official ranked teams 9 - 13, 3 official ranked associates & top 2 other associate teams (from WCL Division 2). Currently this would be: (2) Hosts Aust & NZ. (6) Top 6: Ind, Srl, SA, Eng, Pak & WI. (2) Play offs between [9-13] Bang, Zimb, Irel, Neth, Kenya, [3 ranked] Afgan, Canada, Scotland & 2 qualifying assoc teams from WCL Division 2 (say 2014).

    On current rankings, [1] WI & Bang are fighting it out for 8th spot (auto qualified), [2] Zimb, Irel & Neth could realistically be around 8th spot in 3 years time, [3] Other Divison 1 and top 2 division 2 teams would get to play against ODI teams ranked 9th to 13th.

    The results of 2015 should be used for 2019 qualifier seedings.

  • Bede on May 13, 2011, 20:44 GMT

    Finally. Some common sense on behalf of the ICC

  • Rakesh on May 13, 2011, 18:23 GMT

    As long as no Quarter finals, any format is good. Top 2 from each group or top 4 play SF. If QF is included than round robbin has no meaning. Every one knows that Bangladesh and Zimbabwe cannot qualify. Especially considering the fact that WC2015 will be in Australia, Bangladesh will be blown away. In general WC must be of 12 teams so that 2 spots are based on qualification (as usual). As usual since some young posters feel there were no qualifiers earlier.

  • arctic on May 13, 2011, 14:55 GMT

    More power to the NZ and aus boards who are sticking to the quality perspective. I hope the last 2/3/4 places are made competitive however the tournament should have a round robin format with 9 matches to each team, before the top 4 qualify. Not the two match luck and either you are in or out type we see so often. The all play all format of 1992 is what made it so compelling, with sides peaking early, sides stagnating, and then retrieving their campaigns, and sides peaking just in time. It had everything except the flaw in the rain rule. Besides knowing which team plays who in the round robin also is good from organizing and spectator/tourism booking purposes, with only three matches with to be announced status. I hope you print this.

  • Dummy4 on May 13, 2011, 11:08 GMT

    12 teams WC is good option. Ire deserves to play in WC & AFG is also becoming a better team.

  • Dummy4 on May 13, 2011, 1:46 GMT

    10 team wc is redicules........there should be 12 team wc. qf shud involves only assosiate nations. ireish deserve to be in 2015 wc, they r good team(that doesnot mean that they r better than bang & zim, where bang, zim slighly outclass the ireish) same goes to afghanisthan too( dont mention scot, ken,can, neder)

  • Dummy4 on May 13, 2011, 1:40 GMT

    I think every team (except the hosts Australia and New Zealand), should play in qualifiers). If the gulf of class between top sides and associates is as huge as we've been told it is, then the qualifiers should be a formality. On current form do you really see India, Sri Lanka and the likes not winning an inclusive qualifier tournament? Probably not. For teams on the fringe (Eng, WI, Zim and Ban on current form) nothing will make the teams hungrier than missing out a world cup due to a poor performance in the qualifiers.

  • Abdullah on May 12, 2011, 21:36 GMT

    20007 wc with less rules would be good

  • Wahid on May 12, 2011, 16:54 GMT

    Wow!!! That's great news and a good result of the ICC meeting in LORDS. It will provide chance to Associate countries to demonstrate their talent, especially for countries like Ireland, Afghanistan, Scotland, UAE and The Netherlands.

  • No featured comments at the moment.