ICC awards 2012

Sangakkara, Amla, Philander, Clarke in running for top ICC honour

ESPNcricinfo staff

August 30, 2012

Comments: 218 | Text size: A | A

South Africa's Hashim Amla and Vernon Philander, Australia's Michael Clarke and Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara are in the running for the ICC Cricketer of the Year award for 2011-12. The ICC announced the shortlists for the annual awards on Thursday, and the winners will be announced at a function ahead of the World Twenty20, on September 15, in Colombo.

ICC Cricketer of the Year nominees' stats

  • Hashim Amla: 915 runs at 65.35 with three hundreds in ten Tests, 419 runs at 52.37 with one hundred in eight ODIs
  • Michael Clarke: 1355 runs at 58.91 with five hundreds in 14 Tests, 759 runs at 50.60 with one hundred in 19 ODIs
  • Kumar Sangakkara: 1444 runs at 60.16 with five hundreds in 14 Tests, 1457 runs at 42.85 with three hundreds in 37 ODIs
  • Vernon Philander: 56 wickets at 16.57 with six five-fors in nine Tests

The four cricketers have also been nominated for ICC Test Cricketer of the Year, while Lasith Malinga, MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli join Sangakkara as the contenders for ODI Cricketer of the year.

The nominees were picked off the ICC's longlists, via voting by an academy of 32 people consisting of former players, members of the media, and representatives of the ICC's panel of umpires and match referees. The players were picked based on their performance between August 4, 2011, and August 6, 2012.

The Twenty20 Performance of the Year shortlist includes Tillakaratne Dilshan (for his century against Australia last August), Ajantha Mendis (for his six-for against Australia during the same series), Chris Gayle (for his unbeaten 85 against New Zealand in Florida) and Richard Levi (for his ton against New Zealand, the fastest century in international T20s).

West Indies' Stafanie Taylor and England's Sarah Taylor are most prominent on the women's shortlists, nominated for both Women's ODI Cricket of the Year and Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year.

List of nominees

ICC Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla, Michael Clarke, Vernon Philander, Kumar Sangakkara
ICC Test Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla, Michael Clarke, Vernon Philander, Kumar Sangakkara
ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year: MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Lasith Malinga, Kumar Sangakkara
ICC T20I Performance of the Year: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chris Gayle, Richard Levi, Ajantha Mendis
ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year: Lydia Greenway (Eng), Anisa Mohammed (WI), Sarah Taylor (Eng), Stafanie Taylor (WI)
ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year: Alyssa Healy (Aus), Lisa Sthalekar (Aus), Sarah Taylor (Eng), Stafanie Taylor (WI)
ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Doug Bracewell, Dinesh Chandimal, Sunil Narine, James Pattinson
ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year: Kevin O'Brien, George Dockrell, Ed Joyce, Paul Stirling (all four Ireland), Dawlat Zadran (Afg)
ICC Umpire of the Year: Billy Bowden, Aleem Dar, Kumar Dharmasena, Richard Kettleborough, Simon Taufel, Rodney Tucker
ICC Spirit of Cricket: Mohammad Hafeez, Jacques Kallis, Daniel Vettori, AB de Villiers
People's Choice Award: James Anderson, Jacques Kallis, Vernon Philander, Kumar Sangakkara, Sachin Tendulkar

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (September 2, 2012, 13:33 GMT)

Saeed Ajmal should hve been the winner but this non sense icc hasnt even nominated him..bring some sense into these awards..

Posted by RIBI on (September 2, 2012, 9:10 GMT)

Where is ajmal in this list of cricketer of the year Awards???? Who are these ppl who can't see his outstanding performance thorughout the year... He was the man of the series in the England tour and has given match winning performances for Pak in that period from August 2011-August 2012... How can they overlook Saeed Ajmal... This is not fair at all :(

Posted by web_guru2003 on (September 1, 2012, 20:53 GMT)

Ajmal not included in Test Player of the year and Cricketer of the year is enough to tell about the fairness of these awards. He was the highest wicket taker in Tests by some distance.

Let's pretend that due to some convoluted logic he doesn't deserve to be in the rankings for Tests or ODIs alone, but what the case is against cricketer of the year when he as shone in all three formats? I am sure all three formats (TEST, ODI and T20) has some weightage factor and but a person that has stood out across all three formats should justifiably be the leading contender for the honor

Posted by jayaboy on (September 1, 2012, 14:38 GMT)

icc player of the year-sanga,test player-amla,odi player-kohli.umpire-aleem,t20-mendis,young player-sunil,spirit of cricket-AB,and also sanga can be the people's choice as well.

Posted by TheGreatestGameEverPlayed on (September 1, 2012, 12:54 GMT)

I see most of ppl here have got a serious issue with Sangakkara and his nominations. One thing has to be made very clear here that Sanga scored his 1444 runs in 4 different countries (SL,SA , ENG , UAE ), in 9 different stadiums against 4 top test nations (AU , SA, PAK, ENG). And He made 3 out of his 5 centuries (211,199,192,144,108) outside of SL (which includes a 211). He has also been very consistent thru out the year in all 3 formats. Furthermore He is not only an outstanding Cricketer but also a gentleman on the field. So before making some pointless comments about flat tracks, read my comment........ peace out !!!!!!!!

Posted by swat1999 on (September 1, 2012, 11:22 GMT)

This list is llike a fune whiere is Sayed Azmal? He is one of the best performer for the year of 2011-2012. Who are the people make this list?

Posted by indiasucksgobd on (September 1, 2012, 10:35 GMT)


Posted by KarachiKid on (September 1, 2012, 8:12 GMT)

Saeed Ajmal is not even in the list ? this is outrageous.

Posted by   on (September 1, 2012, 7:54 GMT)

i guess everywhere the debate is why ajmal is not on the list...even the same was discussed by the commentators of the panel in yesterdays match against Aussies..where they stated had they been on the panel , ajmal would have been on the reckoning.

Posted by   on (September 1, 2012, 7:30 GMT)

How can you Justify not nominating SAEED AJMAL for the Player of the Year Award? The players nominated for the award based on their performance between August 4, 2011, and August 6, 2012. In this period the Highest Wicket Takers in International cricket are Saeed Ajmal 120 wickets, Herath 84 wickets, Swann 71, Ashwin 70, Broad 69, Roach 66, Malinga 65, Umar Gul 65, M Morkel 60, Anderson 57, Philander 57 (Philander is nominated for the award).

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days