ICC awards 2012 September 15, 2012

Sangakkara wins big at ICC awards

ESPNcricinfo staff

Kumar Sangakkara has won three awards, including the prestigious Cricketer of the Year and Test Cricketer of the Year at the annual ICC awards ceremony in Colombo. Sangakkara also won the People's Choice prize, an honour he had received last year as well.

For Cricketer and Test Cricketer of the Year, Sangakkara was chosen ahead of South Africa's Hashim Amla and Vernon Philander, and Australia captain Michael Clarke.

He was prolific in both Tests and ODIs during the 12-month voting period ending in early August: in 14 Tests, he compiled 1,444 runs at an average of 60.16, including five centuries and five half-centuries, highlighted by a match-saving 211 against Pakistan in Abu Dhabi; in 37 ODIs, he scored 1457 runs with three hundreds, and also completed 39 catches and three stumpings as a wicketkeeper.

"This is an amazing honour and I've seen the people who have won it before me and the nominees too, to be named alongside them is wonderful," Sangakkara said after receiving the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy for Cricketer of the Year from ICC president Alan Isaac. "I admire them greatly and even more so when I looked up at their records on the screen this evening. It's great to be amongst them. Now to receive this honour this evening, is simply fantastic."

Previous winners of the Cricketer of the Year award include Rahul Dravid (2004), Andrew Flintoff and Jacques Kallis (joint winners in 2005), Ricky Ponting (2006 and 2007), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (2008), Mitchell Johnson (2009), Sachin Tendulkar (2010) and Jonathan Trott (2011).

West Indies legend Brian Lara presented Sangakkara with the Test Cricketer award. "I'm continuing to ensure I am consistent and I need to keep raising the bar each year and keep trying harder and harder to ensure I keep playing good Test cricket," Sangakkara said. "It's a constant battle but I have the support of a great team that helps me to do the best I can."

Sangakkara missed out, though, on a third major gong when Virat Kohli was named ODI Cricketer of the Year, an award Sangakkara had won in 2011. During the period under consideration, Kohli played 31 ODIs and scored 1733 runs at an average of 66.65, including eight hundreds and six half-centuries.

Among the other winners was West Indies offspinner Sunil Narine, who was named Emerging Cricketer of the Year. His hard-to-read variations quickly led to him being labelled a mystery spinner, and he was instrumental in West Indies' series wins over New Zealand in all three formats in July-August.

Another mystery spinner, Ajantha Mendis, missed out on Twenty20 Performance of the Year, which was won by South Africa opener Richard Levi, for his record-breaking 45-ball century against New Zealand.

New Zealand's Daniel Vettori received the Spirit of Cricket Award for his sporting recall of a Zimbabwe batsman during a tense Test in Bulawayo.

Ireland left-arm-spinner George Dockrell took home the Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year prize, becoming the second Irishman to win the award after William Porterfield in 2009.

Women's cricket had two prizes for the first time, with the ICC awarding the ODI Cricketer and T20I Cricketer of the Year, instead of awarding a single honour. Last year's winner West Indies' Stafanie Taylor won the ODI gong, while England's Sarah Taylor took the T20 award.

Besides Sangakkara's three prizes, Sri Lanka won one more: umpire Kumar Dharmasena took the Umpire of the Year award. That ended a three-year winning run for Aleem Dar and left Pakistan, already unhappy at offspinner Saeed Ajmal's exclusion from two top award shortlists, without a prize on the day.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on September 17, 2012, 15:38 GMT

    Well done Sanga,You deserve it..

  • Dummy4 on September 17, 2012, 13:14 GMT

    There is no decision that everyone is pleased about it, thats the life after all. We all (probably, not !) know Sanga did brilliantly against other teams, in many cases, single-handly, compared to what Amla did. In Amla case, he had (almost in all cases) had good supports from other team members but Sanga rarely had good supports. To me, thats rubbish blaming any player saying he did well only in few matches. If we are honest with ourselves, we all (maybe not you!) know every player do brilliantly in some matches but fail in other matches, thats same for Sachin as well. Not just Sanga, Amla or Phillinder didnt do brilliantly in all matches. After all, these awards are decided by many field experts at different levels. so, a ordinary player cannot get a award like this. So, to me, we should accept these awards once they are offered. Not just Sanga, no one will get these awards when they dont play extremely good, so, just let enjoy Sanga the awards which he is deserved to get. Congtz !

  • rajkumar on September 17, 2012, 12:49 GMT

    hi, I feel proud when a 23 year old virat kohli from india has been selected for ODI cricketer of the year 2012. Congrats to virat. sky is the limit for virat. I wish that he will get many more awards for him and for india. rajkumar chopra Allahabad

  • Kevin on September 17, 2012, 12:17 GMT

    Kohli scored 695 runs of 1733 (40%) against Sri Lanka and 183 against Pakistan. So why is every one complaining about sanga scoring only on Sri Lankan pitches. In tests he scored 748 (52%) of the 1444 at home with 516 runs at neutral venues. In ODIs, only 525 of the 1457 (36%) runs were scored on home grounds. Amla scored 378 of 915 runs at home (41%) and in ODIs 243 runs of 419 at home (58%). So don't see the big fuss. Please publish.

  • prasanna on September 17, 2012, 12:14 GMT

    sachin no way.. he is a old hack.. SANGA U deserve t more.. Well done..

  • sheraz on September 17, 2012, 11:16 GMT

    I think Sangakarra got the award based on his consistency and standing in the games based on the last few years rather than his performance in this qualifying period. Much like the Oscars who give an award for a film which is not necessarily the best in the nominees, but is given to someone who has been nominated on multiple occasions but never won. The ICC 'Jury' probably saw this as maybe their last opportunity to give an award to Sanga and therefore took it.

  • cric on September 17, 2012, 9:19 GMT

    congrats sanga u did your job brilliantly for your team this year!but i think there are two more players who deserve this award is Kohli and Amla.They have served their country very well in the whole calendar year!

  • Devjeet on September 17, 2012, 8:45 GMT

    Am quite surprised that Hashim Amla has been ignored for the awards. He has scored heavily this season and is instrumental in getting South Africe to No.1 spot in Test and ODIs.

  • joseph on September 17, 2012, 8:16 GMT

    Normally people selection by default would be Sachin, how come SANGA...?SURPRISED that AMLA Name does not fit anywhere here...

  • rajkumar on September 17, 2012, 7:51 GMT

    Hi, First of all, congrats to sanga, a great player, for his great acheivment. A very gentle player and teamsman. IT IS NOT STRANGE THAT HE HAS BEEN SELECTED ABOVE Sachin. He is the first Srilankan to receive these awards. Normally, A player is lucky after receiving only one award, but he deserves it. I PRAY gOD TO KEEP HIM FIT. Rajkumar Chopra. Allahabad

  • No featured comments at the moment.