ICC news August 25, 2014

Namibia to host ICC WCL Division Two

ESPNcricinfo staff

The ICC has announced that Namibia has been selected to host ICC World Cricket League Division Two from January 17-24. The host side will be joined by Canada, Kenya, Netherlands and the top two teams promoted from Division Three in the six-team round-robin event. The ICC also reconfirmed that Uganda will remain host of Division Three, which is scheduled to be held from October 26-November 2, despite security concerns raised by the USA Cricket Association.

Division Two represents a major opportunity for Associates to improve their status as the top teams at the event will qualify to take part in the next edition of the World Cricket League Championship 50-over competition for Associates as well as the four-day ICC Intercontinental Cup. Both competitions will begin later in 2015 and continue through 2017.

In addition to the top teams from Division Two, the other teams that will feature in the next edition of the WCL Championship and Intercontinental Cup are Ireland, Afghanistan, Scotland, UAE, Hong Kong and Papua New Guinea. Ireland and Afghanistan secured qualification to the 2015 World Cup by virtue of finishing first and second in the last edition of the WCL Championship.

Namibia and Kenya were the only two countries to submit bids to host Division Two with Canada and Netherlands unable to host during the northern hemisphere winter. Namibia previously hosted the inaugural WCL Division Two tournament in December 2007, which was won by Oman.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on August 30, 2014, 5:44 GMT

    Canada has had poor results for the past 2 years (weather hasn't helped), but hopefully, with a new coach, they can have a good tournament, finish this tournament strongly, and get ODI status back and get into the Intercontinental Cup again.

  • Sooraz on August 29, 2014, 11:48 GMT

    Nepal is gonna top div-3, there is no doubt. But has to work very hard to get a top position in div-2. Good news is Dassnayake is back in Nepal. We followers of Nepal Cricket have now more expectations ahead.

  • Dimash on August 27, 2014, 7:18 GMT

    Initially, Nepal was suppossed to host Division III. But later, Uganda gained the hosting right. Since there are security concerns in Uganda, why not bring it back to Nepal???

  • Rahul on August 26, 2014, 7:44 GMT

    KUDOS to Namibia...appreciate the ICC to rejuvenate the namibian cricket rise & identify the new talent on a healthy note. It's now or never for Namibia to step up for huge task as it's been a while the world has seen the likes of namibian players on international level. Looking forward to catch up the action LIVE from one of the africa's best nation.

  • Dummy4 on August 26, 2014, 7:27 GMT

    The road to test status begins here! Will be watching this closely, although it is highly unlikely that any of these teams will upset the Irish or Afghanistan, who really knows what sort of potential is hidden away in some of these places? Love associate cricket!

  • Gyanendra on August 26, 2014, 3:12 GMT

    Recently nepal has won all available trophy for age level cricket of ACC non test level. Nepal is only one country to do such landmark. but Nepal is still a lot behind in senior ODI level. One of reason that Nepal couldn't do as expected Nepal has very less good batsman with exposure..Hope Nepal can do much all round performance with inspirational captain Paras khadka. Nepal has a lot bowler in current squad who holds international records. Alam, Rahul, Shakti are record holder bowler. Sompal n Jitendra r good fast bowler at non-test level. Lets hope Nepal can wins a medal in Asian games then Div-3. Best of Nepal.

  • No featured comments at the moment.