South Africa in West Indies, 2004-05 March 13, 2005

Zondeki and Prince named in Caribbean squad

Cricinfo staff

Ashwell Prince: rewarded for century © Getty Images

Monde Zondeki and Ashwell Prince have been rewarded for their career-best performances in the second Test against Zimbabwe, by being named in South Africa's Test squad for their tour of the Caribbean, which gets underway at the end of the month.

Zondeki, who wrapped up today's innings victory with 6 for 39, and Prince, whose unbeaten 139 was his maiden Test century, have been named in a 15-man squad. The players leave for the West Indies on March 24, with the first of four Tests getting underway in Guyana a week later.

All 11 of the players who took part in the Centurion Test have been named in the squad. The other four members of the squad are the first-choice new-ball attack of Shaun Pollock and Makhaya Ntini, both of whom were rested for this match, plus Andrew Hall and Boeta Dippenaar, who scored a century in the opening Test of the series against England, but failed to build on that performance in the remainder of the Tests.

All the selections are subject to fitness, and South Africa have several injury concerns ahead of the trip. Charl Langeveldt's lower-back problem is a particular worry - he was unable to bowl in Zimbabwe's second innings. Andre Nel's left hamstring didn't look too much of a worry today, nor Jacques Kallis's right hip, but along with Shaun Pollock's left ankle, they will all continue to receive treatment.

Commenting on the squad, Haroon Lorgat, South Africa's convenor of selectors, said: "We have reached a point where we have a reasonably settled squad, and it is unfortunate that talented players like Dale Steyn, Thami Tsolekile, Hashim Amla and Zander de Bruyn had to be left out of the touring party. They all have the potential to succeed at the highest level."

The squad will spend three days preparing in Antigua before moving to Guyana for the first Test. The squad for the five-match one-day series will be announced in April.

South African squad Graeme Smith (capt), Nicky Boje (v-c), Mark Boucher (wk), AB de Villiers, Boeta Dippenaar, Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Hall, Jacques Kallis, Charl Langeveldt, Andre Nel, Makhaya Ntini, Shaun Pollock, Ashwell Prince, Jacques Rudolph, Monde Zondeki.