December 10, 1999

Tri-nation series in Australia: Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Malik recalled

Ilyas Beg

Lahore, Dec 9: Discarded Test all-rounder ShahidAfridiand younginternational off-spinner Shoaib Malik were recalled to the 14-man Pakistan cricket team that will take part in the triangular one-day series beginning in Australia from Jan 9.

Dropped from the 16-member team which recently suffered a 0-3 defeat in Test series are opener GhulamAli, pacemen Waqar Younis and Mohammad Akram and wrist spinner Mushtaq Ahmad.

Talking to`Dawn' here on Thursday, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) ad hoc committee secretary Shafqat Rana said that a short duration reconditioning camp wouldbeginatthe Gaddafi from Dec 15. He said that although theexact date for departure of the Pakistan team for Australia had not yet been finalised, it was expected to leave on December 29.

The selectors also announced five reserves. They are: Shahid Nazir, Imran Nazir and Taufiq Umar, Hasan Raza and Faisal Iqbal.

The National selection committee comprising Salahuddin Ahmad (chairman), Iqbal Qasim and Masood Iqbal, watched 17 players called for the trials in two sessions. The morning session began at 11:30a.m. instead of the scheduled time of 9:30 a.m.Afterthe lunch-break, another session of trials was held in which allthe three selectors watched all the players before recommending names of the 14 members of the team and five reserves to thePCB adhoc committee. The team will be led by all-rounder Wasim Akram.

The team comprise three all-rounders (Abdur Razzak, Azhar Mahmood, Shahid Afridi), two openers (Saeed Anwar, Wajahatullah Wasti), four middle-order batsmen (Mohammad Wasim, Ijaz Ahmad, Yousuf Youhana, Inzamam-ul-Haq), two spinners (Saqlain Mushtaq and Shoaib Malik) and two fast bowlers (Wasim Akram and Shoaib Akhtar). Only one wicketkeeper will be accompanying the team. He is Moin Khan, who is also a courageous middle-order batsman.

Ghulam Ali has been dropped from the side without being given a chance to play in any of the three Tests in Australia. Speedster Waqar Younis played in only the second Test where he was under bowled.

Mohammad Akram has been left out despite capturing five wickets in the last Test at Perth. Mushtaq Ahmad played in only the three-Test series opener where he was a shadow of himself.

Other teams taking part in the triangular series are India and hosts Australia.

Against Australia, Pakistan will be attempting to avenge their recent defeat in the Test series that followed after defeat in the World Cup final at Lords. Pakistan will be meeting India for the first time since the Super Six match in the World Cup at Old Trafford. Pakistan lost that game.

The squad is

Wasim Akram (captain), Moin Khan (vice-captain), Saeed Anwar, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Wajahatullah Wasti, Ijaz Ahmad, Yousaf Youhanna, Azhar Mahmood, Abdul Razzaq, Saqlain Mushtaq, ShahidAfridi, Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Wasim and Shoaib Malik.