February 7, 2000

South African team for Indian tour

The South African selectors on Monday announced a 14-member squad which will tour India later this month for a short tour that will consist of two Tests, five one day internationals and one first class game.

The visitors will play the two Tests at Mumbai (February 24 to 28) and Bangalore (March 2 to 6). They will open the tour with a three day match against Board President's XI at the CCI in Mumbai on February 19. The ODI's are at Kochi (March 9), Jamshedpur (March 12), Faridabad (March 15), Baroda (March 17) and Nagpur (March 19).

Hansie Cronje, who led South Africa on their last tour here in 1996-97, will again captain the side. The other members of the team are: Herschelle Gibbs, Gary Kirsten, Hendrik Dippenaar, Daryll Cullinan, Jacques Kallis, Pieter Strydom, Lance Klusener, Shaun Pollock, Mark Boucher, Paul Adams, Allan Donald, Clive Eksteen and Mornantau Hayward.