June 7, 2000

Pakistan in Sri Lanka: Waqar, Younis, Mushtaq recalled

Abbas only new face in Sri Lanka-bound squad

Lahore, June 6: The left-handed batsman and leg-spinner Qaiser Abbas is new face included in the 17-member Pakistan cricket team for the Sri Lankan tour which begins from June 8.

Pakistan will play three Test match series against the host and a triangular One-Day tournament, also involving South Africa.

The team was announced on Tuesday after getting approval from the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) ad hoc committee chairman Lt Gen Tauqir Zia who is currently in Dhaka to watch Asia Cup matches.

Qaiser Abbas belongs to Muridke, a town some 25 kilometres from Lahore. It is also the home town of present opening batsman Imran Nazir. Qaiser Abbas has played the last domestic season for the Pakistan Reserve team which was formed by the previous PCB chairman Mujeeb-ur-Rahman. He scored with an average of 55.8, having one century and three fifties to his credit.

Except slogger Shahid Afridi, all the members of the Pakistan team which qualified for the final of the Asia Cup in Bangladesh has been retained in the 17-member team.

A PCB spokesman said that Shahid Afridi would be considered for the triangular series which will be held after the Test series.

Leg-spinner Mushtaq Ahmad, paceman Waqar Younis and right handed batsman Younis Khan, who toured the West Indies last month but dropped from the Asia Cup team, have also been included in the team.

Following are the names of the Pakistan team:

Saeed Anwar, Imran Nazir, Mohammad Wasim, Inzamam-ul-Haq (vice-captain), Yousaf Youhana, Moin Khan (Captain), Abdur Razzaq, Wasim Akram, Azhar Mahmood, Arshad Khan, Shoaib Malik, Mushtaq Ahmad, Mohammad Akram, Waqar Younis, Qaiser Abbas, Younas Khan and Shabbir Ahmad.

Physio: Dr Dan Kiesal. Doctor: Nauman Niaz.

The first and the third Test of the series will be played at Colombo. The second Test is to be played at Kandy. The venues for the one-day triangular series as yet have not been decided. However, mostly matches will be played at Colombo, the PCB spokesman said.

Following is the itinerary of the Sri Lankan tour:

June 10-11: practice match at Colombo.

June 14-18: First Test at Colombo.

June 21-25: Second Test at Kandy.

June 28-July 2: Third Test at Colombo.

Triangular one-day tournament:

July 5: Pakistan vs Sri Lanka.

July 6: Sri Lanka vs South Africa.

July 8: Pakistan vs South Africa.

July 9: Pakistan vs Sri Lanka.

July 11: South Africa vs Sri Lanka.

July 12: South Africa vs Pakistan.

July 14: Final

July 16: Reserve Day.