England announce one-day squad for Sri Lanka September 10, 2007

Graeme Swann called up for ODIs against Sri Lanka

Cricinfo staff

Graeme Swann has taken 11 wickets at 11.18 in five Pro40 matches this season © Getty Images

Graeme Swann, the Nottinghamshire offspinner, has been picked in England's one-day squad for Sri Lanka in place of injured fast bowler Chris Tremlett. Luke Wright, the Sussex allrounder who made an impressive ODI debut against India, is also part of the side. Wright scored a fifty on his debut and is also part of England's squad for the ICC World Twenty20.

Swann, who played one ODI for England in 2000, was included keeping in mind that pitches in Sri Lanka will be favourable to spin bowling. He has taken 11 wickets at 11.18 so far in the five Pro40 matches this season. "Graeme's inclusion in the squad will give us the option of fielding two spinners in our starting line-up if required," David Graveney, the chairman of selector, said of the squad, which also includes Monty Panesar.

"The selectors were delighted with many aspects of the team's performance against India including Paul Collingwood's development as a captain, Ian Bell's batting, the energy shown in the field and the significant contributions made by the newer members of the squad," Graveney said.

"This season things have gone really well for me for at Notts and I'm glad to have got the recognition," Swann told Sky Sports. "Notts have allowed me to go in and have a bit of a dig at the top of the order. It's been great fun but I am just concentrating on getting in the team for my bowling first and foremost."

Ravi Bopara and Ryan Sidebottom have also been included despite injuries. Bopara, who was replaced by James Anderson in the Twenty20 squad, broke his thumb during the fifth ODI against India, while Sidebottom is yet to recover from a side strain he suffered during the Oval Test.

England play five ODIs against Sri Lanka between October 1 and 13.

England ODI squad: Paul Collingwood (capt), James Anderson, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara , Stuart Broad, Alastair Cook, Andrew Flintoff, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Monty Panesar, Kevin Pietersen, Matthew Prior, Owais Shah, Ryan Sidebottom, Graeme Swann, Luke Wright.