ICC Champions Trophy 2013 April 6, 2013

Sehwag, Harbhajan, and Zaheer not among Champions Trophy probables

ESPNcricinfo staff

India have left out three senior players from their list of probables for the Champions Trophy in June this year, opting for several uncapped youngsters in the 30-man squad which will eventually be pruned down to 15. Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Khan, and Harbhajan Singh have been excluded, and the decision is likely to prompt questions over their ODI future.

Sehwag was dropped from India's most recent ODI series, against England at home in January. He was also dropped for the final two Tests against Australia, following poor returns in Chennai and Hyderabad. Harbhajan hasn't played an ODI since June 2011 and also missed the last two Tests against Australia, though he was part of the squad. Zaheer suffered a calf injury during the Ranji Trophy, but had been dropped during the home Test series against England late last year and the subsequent ODIs against Pakistan.

Cheteshwar Pujara, who had an excellent Test series against Australia, during which he also showed his ability to accelerate and score freely in a tricky chase in the fourth Test in Delhi, has not been named. Pujara will be leading the India A side to South Africa, the itinerary for which has not yet been finalised. Should the dates not clash, Pujara could be considered for the Champions Trophy, said a BCCI source, since it's not mandatory for teams to pick their final 15 from the preliminary squad. Pragyan Ojha, the left-arm spinner, who picked up seven wickets in two Tests against Australia and has not been included among the 30 probables, could also be part of that India A squad.

That aside, the focus on youth is evident with the inclusion of uncapped players who've made a mark in recent times. India's Under-19 captain Unmukt Chand, who plays for Delhi, has been named, so has allrounder Parvez Rasool from Jammu and Kashmir, who picked up seven wickets against the Australians in a tour game this year.

Batsmen Ambati Rayudu and Kedar Jadhav, known for their attacking approach, are part of the 30-man list, so are wicketkeepers Wriddhiman Saha and Dinesh Karthik. Irfan Pathan, who last played an ODI in August 2012, and Amit Mishra, the legspinner, have also been named. Seamers Ishwar Pandey from Madhya Pradesh, who topped the wicket charts in the Ranji Trophy, and Punjab's Siddarth Kaul, who was next on that list, are the fresh additions in the bowling department. Pandey is joined by his state team-mate, allrounder Jalaj Saxena, who bowls off-spin.

Probables: M Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Gautam Gambhir, Unmukt Chand, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Wriddhiman Saha, Dinesh Karthik, R Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Ravindra Jadeja, Jalaj Saxena, Parvez Rasool, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashok Dinda, Umesh Yadav, Shami Ahmed, Irfan Pathan, Vinay Kumar, Praveen Kumar, Ishwar Pandey, Siddarth Kaul.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Lakshminarayanan on April 10, 2013, 7:02 GMT

    Good Traditional 30 members selection. 10 batsmen, 10 bowlers, 5 wicket keepers, 5 spinners. Its good to see Dinesh Karthik is selected, he is been in very good form in Domestic seasion and he has the ability to pull short/bounce balls (you would have noticed on-going IPL Matches) than few others in the team, he will be good especially in Eng Pitches. So still Gambhir is placed out of no-where, but its a chance for him to prove his potential in this IPL, otherwise difficult to cut in last 15 list. My choice considering the recent performances and WC'15 will be 1. Dinesh Karthik 2. Shikar Dhawan 3. Virat Kohli 4. Yuviraj Singh 5. Dhoni 6. Suresh Raina 7. Ravindra Jadeja 8. Ashwin 9. Irfan Pathan 10. Bhuvaneswar Kumar 11. Umesh Yadav 12. A Rahane 13. Parveez Razool 14. Praveen Kumar 15. Ishant Sharma.

  • Al on April 9, 2013, 21:48 GMT

    As far as Sehwag and Bhajji are concerned - Good riddance!! They were the biggest non-performers of Indian team in last 2 years. It was exasperating to see Indian Selectors giving chances to these 2 non-performers for so long, when we have over abundance of talent waiting to be given a chance. Dhawan, Murli, Mukund, even Jaffer can bat better than Sehwag. Both Rasool and Saxena are 1000 times better than Bhajji. If Zaheer can get fit, he can still be considered for the South Africa series.

  • Dummy4 on April 9, 2013, 10:09 GMT

    Shikhar,chand,Virat,Manoj,Dhoni,Raina, irfan,ashwin, B kumar,Yadav,p kumar shud be playing 11

    other 4: vijay,rahane,rayudu,yuvi(shud be in playing 11 if fully fit)

  • Dummy4 on April 9, 2013, 4:03 GMT

    It is good to see Unmukt selected, Would like to emphasise a place to Aparajita also in the same wave-length.

  • Dummy4 on April 8, 2013, 18:21 GMT

    Best 15 member squad is gambhir, dhawan, kohli, yuvraj, raina, dhoni, jadeja, ashwin, bhuv kumar, pathan, shami ahmed, vinay kumar, amit mishra, Dinesh kartik, Manoj tiwary

  • Raj on April 8, 2013, 18:11 GMT

    common Dinesh Karthik. This time you should find place in middle order ahead of Rahane, Tiwary. This is good cricket. Finally selectors seeing DK is potential.

  • Dummy4 on April 8, 2013, 14:12 GMT

    1.gambir, 2. dhawan, 3. vijay,4. kohli, 5. raina, 6. dhoni, 7. aswin, 8. ishant,9. umesh yadav,10. b kumar, 11. r jadeja, 12. yuvraj, 13. rahane 14, shami 15 Rayudu

  • Dummy4 on April 8, 2013, 13:19 GMT

    Finally that darter (Bhaji) is out of contention for Indian team. He was no good and hardly spun the ball ever or took wickets cos of his skills. Most of wickets I have seen him take are usually when bowler goes after him and has taken him apart then he gets wicket by that time game is almost lost. People blame Misbah for loosing out a close game on T20 2007 World cup final but I personally feel it was Bhajji who brought the game to a cliffhanger when he gave those 3 sixes when Pakistan needed a mountain to climb. Otherwise Pakistan were in hopeless position. If he had bowled a decent over of even 10 runs the match would never have been so close . I have seen Raina and Sehwag turn the ball on same pitch where Bhajji darted balls. As for Sehwag well I am sad but I guess its end of an era. In Zaheers case he was great while he was fit but now he can hardlybowl 10 overs without breaking down be it ODI or test.

  • SRIRAM on April 8, 2013, 12:04 GMT

    Pujara is the best player of short balls, he is not afraid to pull and hook if needed. I don't know why Selectors and Dhoni keep working with Rohit


  • Naresh on April 8, 2013, 11:55 GMT

    @vineeth agree with you, Sreesanth is good. Ex-India bowlers need to guide him. In overseas conditions he can be good. BCCI is poor at looking after such bowlers. Another who comes to mind is RP Singh. These two are forgotten but have the talent.