ICC Women's World T20 August 29, 2012

Du Preez to lead South Africa Women at World T20

ESPNcricinfo staff

Mignon du Preez will lead a 14-member South Africa squad at the ICC Women's World Twenty20 in September. This will be South Africa women's first experience of playing cricket in Sri Lanka.

"Our captain, Mignon du Preez, has played a vital role in our preparations and is growing quickly in this leadership role," Yashin Ebrahim, the coach of the team, said. "Her calm demeanour, both on and off the field, has gelled the squad."

"She will be backed up by some fine individual performers such as her vice-captain, Trisha Chetty - who is one of the best wicketkeepers in the world and is also ranked among the top ten specialist batsmen - Shandre Fritz, who is our only player to have scored a century in this format and Sunette Loubser, last year's SA Women's Cricketer of the Year."

South Africa would hope to improve their dismal record in Twenty20 matches - three wins in 21 attempts. They have been placed in Group B along with New Zealand, West Indies and Sri Lanka. South Africa play hosts Sri Lanka in the opening match of the tournament on September 26 in Galle.

South Africa squad: Mignon du Preez (capt), Trisha Chetty (vice-capt), Susan Benade, Dinesha Devnarain, Shandre Fritz, Alison Hodgkinson, Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Marcia Letsoalo, Sunette Loubser, Sune Luus, Yolandi van der Westhuizen, Dane van Niekerk