Ranji One-Day Trophy, 2006-07 February 16, 2007

Debutant Einstein stars in Tamil Nadu victory

Cricinfo staff

Tamil Nadu 330 for 4 (Vijay 112, Einstein 92) beat Kerala 284 (Gomez 105) by 46 runs

Napoleon Einstein starred in his debut match for Tamil Nadu, scoring 92 in his side's 46-run win against Kerala at the Railways Recreation Club Ground at Secunderabad. Murali Vijay, another young player enjoying a dream debut season, scored 112 and it was his double-century opening stand with Einstein which set the platform for Tamil Nadu's imposing score of 330 for 4. S Badrinath's late order assault - he scored 64 off 42 balls - took the score past 300. Raiphi Gomez led Kerala's charge with a run-a-ball 105 but it went in vain as his side managed 284 in the allotted overs.

Goa 160 for 2 (S Asnodkar 83*) beat Andhra 158 (Varma 38, Jakati 2-20, D'Souza 2-37) by eight wickets

Swapnil Asnodkar's unbeaten 83 guided Goa to a comfortable eight-wicket win over Andhra at the Gymkhana Ground in Secunderabad. Asnodkar faced 99 balls in his knock and struck 11 fours, helping his side chase down the modest target of 159 in just under 38 overs. Earlier, Sagun Kamat, Goa captain, justified his decision to insert the opposition as Andhra were wobbling at 12 for 3. Prabhu Kiran responded with a fluent 32 off 26 balls but failed to convert his good start. Satya Kumar Varma top-scored with 38 but it was the collective failure of the batsmen which let them down, as they failed to bat out their 50 overs.

Karnataka 190 for 4 (Raghu 45, Chougule 44*) beat Hyderabad 189 (Yadav 56, Joshi 2-18) by six wickets

Chandrashekar Raghu's allround performance guided Karnataka to an easy six-wicket win over Hyderabad at Uppal. Raghu took two wickets in his eight overs and scored 45 as the visitors chased down the target of 190 with ease to win the Subbaiah Pillai Trophy. The Karnataka spinners, led by former left-arm spinner Sunil Joshi, kept the runs in check and shared five wickets between them to tie the home side down. Joshi was particularly parsimonious, conceded just 18 off his 10 overs, picking up two wickets in the process. Arjun Yadav resisted with a patient 56 off 105 balls but lacked support from the rest.

Bharath Chipli led Karnataka's chase with 45, sharing a second-wicket stand of 82 with Barrington Rowland. Raghu kept the momentum going, scoring six fours in his knock and Deepak Chougule steered the side to victory with an unbeaten 44.

Baroda 222 for 6 (Williams 55, Shah 49) beat Saurashtra 221 (Kotak 53, Pawar 3-38) by four wickets

Connor Williams's half century guided Baroda to a four-wicket win over Saurashtra at the Brabourne Stadium. Chasing 222, Baroda were in a spot of bother at 16 for 2, and it was Williams' two crucial partnerships which shaped the victory. He added 69 for the third wicket with Rakesh Solanki (35) and a more productive 65 with Pinal Shah for the fourth wicket. Shah made a 46-ball 49 with seven fours and Williams fell for 59 soon after. Yousuf Pathan's quick-fire 42 guided the side home with under five overs to spare. Shitanshu Kotak, the experienced left-handed middle-order batsman, top-scored for Saurashtra with 53 but the rest failed to compile a challenging score after he was dismissed in the 33rd over.

Maharashtra 245 for 9 (de Shetty 49, Sanclecha 34*) beat Mumbai 243 for 9 (Sharma 59, Naik 58) by one wicket

Maharashtra snuck home by one wicket against Mumbai in a tense finish at the Wankhede Stadium. Chasing 244, the visitors lost their ninth wicket for 235 but it was Anupam Sanclecha, who scored a run-a-ball 34, who guided his side home with over an over to spare. Maharashtra lost half their side with only 111 on board and from thereon, the lower order fought back and wrested the initiative in the middle overs. Mumbai were in the driver's seat when Sairaj Bahutule was the eighth batsman to be dismissed with his side still requiring 53 before Sanclecha then took over. Earlier, Mumbai opted to bat first and posted 243 for 9, boosted by half centuries by Rohit Sharma and Prashath Naik.

Punjab 242 for 9 (Goel 84) beat Delhi 218 for 9 (Chopra 57) by 24 runs

Karan Goel struck a vital 84 in Punjab's 24-run victory against Delhi at Mohali. It was a tight contest with Punjab scoring 242 for 9 before their bowlers put in a disciplined effort to restrict Delhi to 218 for 9. Apart from Goel, the only contributions of note were Dinesh Mongia's 37 and Udal Kaul's 35. Delhi's bowlers shared the wickets between them but Mithun Manhas returned the best figures of 2 for 35 off ten overs. Aakash Chopra and Gautam Gambhir gave Delhi the ideal start scoring 100 off 20 overs. Then Gambhir was run out and Gagandeep Singh struck two decisive bowlers to leave Delhi struggling at 112 for 3. Thereafter they lost wickets at regular intervals and fell short of the target.

Jammu & Kashmir 147 for 8 (Mahajan 51) beat Services 93 (Nabi 4-21)

Abid Nabi decimated the Services top-order and spearheaded Jammu & Kashmir's 54-run victory at Patiala. Nabi also starred in a team hat-trick as Jammu & Kashmir skittled Services for 93 after they had posted 147 for 8 in a match that was reduced to 20 overs a side. Dhruv Mahajan top-scored for Jammu & Kashmir with 51 and Yashpal Singh was Services' best bowler with 3 for 28. In the third over of Services' chase, Nabi dismissed Jasvir Singh and Yashpal Singh of successive deliveries and ran out Narendra Kumar off the next ball. He had Sanjay Verma caught in his next over and Services never recovered after being reduced to 11 for 5.

Match abandoned due to rain Haryana v Himachal Pradesh

Heavy rain forced the Ranji Trophy match between Haryana and himachal Pradesh to be abandoned without a ball being bowled at the Sector 16 Stadium in Chandigarh.