India news May 31, 2011

Tendulkar, Durani honoured at BCCI awards

ESPNcricinfo staff

Sachin Tendulkar has been named India's cricketer of the year at the BCCI awards in Mumbai, while former allrounder Salim Durani, who helped shape India's maiden Test win in the West Indies in 1971, received the lifetime achievement award.

Tendulkar scored 1064 runs in ten Tests between October 2009 and September 2010 - the period for which the awards were presented - at an average of 82.00, besides scoring one-day cricket's first double-hundred.

Durani, a left-hand batsman and left-arm spinner who played 29 Tests between 1960 and 1973, was renowned for his six-hitting prowess. He bowled India to victory over England in 1961-62, picking up eight and ten wickets in wins in Calcutta and Madras. Almost a decade later he was instrumental in India's victory over West Indies in Port of Spain, claiming the big wickets of Clive Lloyd and Gary Sobers.

India's World Cup-winning team and support staff were also honoured at the awards. Talking about the achievement, India captain MS Dhoni said his team did well to capitalise on the home advantage during the World Cup. "When you play for the country, the one thing you want to win is the World Cup," he said. "It is a proud moment for all of us. We exploited the conditions really well."

Karnataka's Manish Pandey picked up the award for best batsman in domestic cricket, having scored 882 runs in nine Ranji Trophy matches. Fast bowler Abhimanyu Mithun, who claimed 47 wickets in the competition, was named best bowler.

List of award winners

CK Nayudu Award for lifetime achievement: Salim Durani

Best Cricket Association of the Year for overall performance: Maharashtra

Best domestic umpire: K Hariharan

Polly Umrigar Award for cricketer of the year: Sachin Tendulkar

Madhavrao Scindia Award for most runs in domestic cricket: Manish Pandey

Madhavrao Scindia Award for most wickets in domestic cricket: Abhimanyu Mithun

M A Chidambaram Trophy for best Under-16 cricketer: Tamil Nadu's B Aparajith

M A Chidambaram Trophy for best Under-19 cricketer:Gujarat's Bhargav Merai

M A Chidambaram Trophy for best Under-22 cricketer: Orissa's Natraj Behera

M A Chidambaram Trophy for best woman cricketer: MD Thirushkamini

M A Chidambaram Trophy for best junior woman cricketer: Reva Arora

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on June 2, 2011, 22:03 GMT

    I am honor and previledge to been coached by Mr.Salim Durrani Father Mr.Master Aziz who produce Little Master Hanif Mohammad/Mushtaq Mohammad/Sadiq Mohammad/Jawed Miandad/Qasim Omer/SikenderBakht/Mansoor Akther/Mohsin Hasan Khan/Iqbal Qasim/WasimBariZaheer Abbas/Asif Iqbal/AnilDilpat/Walis Mathis/Antou D'Souza/Taslim Arif/Myself and many more he was one of the best coach ever in Sub-Continant ever produce.I think both paksitan and india should honor him to for his great service.

  • Sreejith on June 2, 2011, 22:00 GMT

    there may be 1000 Captains better than Sachin, But there is no Batsman better than him!!!

  • Dummy4 on June 2, 2011, 20:55 GMT

    Sachin Tendulkar is the greatest batsmen for all time no doubt it.He is been helped by all past and present cricketers.He is one the greatest human being on earth so humble and down to earth great role model for all around the world.Pakistan should learn from india how they respect there past and present cricketers and other person in the cricket administration.I have honor to meet Sachin Tendulkar recived awards from the great batsmen MR.SUNIL GAVASKER.Honor to played with MR.KAPIL DEV.I always admire indian cricketers they are simple down to earth.

  • sandy on June 2, 2011, 18:02 GMT

    Our former cricketers do have pension from BCCI.

  • bismoy on June 2, 2011, 17:48 GMT

    @Raghav Endran For sometime i was astonished how a avg player in test with carrer avg of 41 can outscore sachin by 100 run....

    Now the Fact: Year 2010 Sachin is leading run scorer in world with 1562 at avg of 78 Year 2007 Saurav 2nd highest run getter in world with 1106 runs at avg of 61

    Please dont compare apple with orange and tell orange is better.......

  • Ashok on June 2, 2011, 15:02 GMT

    @us_Indian: Well said Sir. I played league cricket in Hyderabad with Abid Ali, when he was a WK/batsmen. We used to call him Naya Daur because of his fast running.I see so many comments about Tendulkar in this column. Sachin is undoubtedly the greaest batsmen in the world. But India must not forget the preceding Indian greats who made the game what it is today. BCCI must recognize the old greats who barely made livlihood during their playing days and are struggling to make ends meet in their retired years. You had to belong to rich family to play cricket about 40 to 50 years ago. Now good cricketers like Sachin & Dhoni are earning well over $50 Million/year in endorsements. The older generation of cricketers dating right up to 2000 barely made a living out of cricket. There were many Yusuf Pathans before but they did not earn Millions.So rich BCCI, besides making profit must also reward the past greats monetarily in form of a pension after entering some of them in Hall of Fame.

  • Ritwik on June 2, 2011, 12:26 GMT

    @aarpee2: 3 consecutive series wins against Sri Lanka, Australia and South Africa? Which world do you live in? We drew in Sri Lanka, won against Australia in India, and drew in South Africa. Who scored 98 in the 1st innings of the 1st Test against Australia? Who scored a double century in the 1st innings and an unbeaten half century in the 2nd innings of the 2st Test against Australia? Who won the MOS award in the series against Australia? Who saved India from a series loss against South Africa by scoring 146 in the 1st innings of the 3rd Test?

  • Ravi on June 2, 2011, 11:16 GMT

    India are also No1 TEST Team.3 successive series wins were crafted by VVS Laxman in the company of tail-enders, ishant,Harbhajan and Zaheer against SL,Aus + SA over the 2010-2 of them being away series..Yet BCCI chose to ignore this achievement when even the govt awarded him a Padma Sree.. How many such examples do we have in our history when one man made the difference consisitently....pity we make the 'ordinary as extra-ordinary' and yet we fail to recognise a true selfless genius that VVS truly is-an unsung hero if ever there was one.

  • sandy on June 2, 2011, 8:58 GMT

    @rocky BCCI celebreted 25th anniversary of 83 world cup with the former players including Kapildev that too aftermath the ICL saga.

  • Divyesh on June 2, 2011, 8:57 GMT

    i agree with you Raghav Endran. Dada should have got that award but even Sachin deserved this one

  • No featured comments at the moment.