Ireland news

Cusack returns for Ireland qualifiers

ESPNcricinfo staff

October 14, 2013

Comments: 1 | Text size: A | A

Alex Cusack cuts hard behind point, Ireland v Canada, Intercontinental Cup, 1st day, Dublin, September 13, 2011
Alex Cusack returns for Ireland's Word T20 qualifying campaign © ICC
Related Links
Players/Officials: Alex Cusack
Series/Tournaments: ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier
Teams: Ireland

Ireland welcome back Alex Cusack to their squad for the World T20 Qualifier next month in a boost to their chances of winning a place in Bangladesh next year.

Cusack was named Man of the Tournament in the 2010 qualifier and returns having missed the final month of the season with a back injury, which also kept him out of Ireland's ODI against England.

Ireland have qualified for the last three editions of the World T20 and another place among the elite of world cricket is in their sights. It should be a formality with six of the 16 teams going through. Ireland are the No. 1 seeds in the competitions

12 of Ireland's 15-man squad for the UAE were in the party that played in the last World T20 in Sri Lanka. The three who didn't are 20-year-old legspinner Andrew McBrine, batsman James Shannon and allrounder John Mooney.

"It's good to have Alex back in the frame," Ireland coach Phil Simmons said. "He's an intelligent cricketer and a very canny bowler to have especially in the Powerplays. He mixes his pace up well and can be difficult to read for the batsmen.

"There's no secret that I like a lot of experience in my squads and this one's no different. Most of the guys have played in World Cup finals and are used to pressure, which always comes with these qualifying tournaments.

"We also have John Mooney fit again after he missed the Scotland matches, so we've plenty of options in the bowling department. Andrew McBrine deserves an opportunity. He's done very well this season and his bowling will be a useful asset on the slower pitches in the UAE."

The tour also includes the Intercontinental Cup final against Afghanistan, for which Andrew White will join up with the squad. White is Ireland's leading runscorer in Intercontinental Cup history with 1502 runs at 60.08.

Ireland squad for World T20 Qualifiers
William Porterfield (capt), Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Trent Johnston, Ed Joyce, Andrew McBrine, John Mooney, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien (wkt), James Shannon, Max Sorensen, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson.

Ireland squad for Intercontinental Cup final
William Porterfield (capt), George Dockrell, Trent Johnston, Ed Joyce, John Mooney, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien, Max Sorensen, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Andrew White, Gary Wilson.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by virendra_s on (October 15, 2013, 16:20 GMT)

Good Squad . I think Stuart Thompson should be given a chance in playing eleven. Are these matches going to be live in India.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
5th Match, Pool B: Ireland v West Indies at Nelson
Feb 16, 2015
16th Match, Pool B: Ireland v U.A.E. at Brisbane
Feb 25, 2015
24th Match, Pool B: Ireland v South Africa at Canberra
Mar 3, 2015
30th Match, Pool B: Ireland v Zimbabwe at Hobart
Mar 7, 2015
34th Match, Pool B: India v Ireland at Hamilton
Mar 10, 2015
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days