Pakistan news January 12, 2013

Ajmal sweeps Pakistan awards

ESPNcricinfo staff

Saeed Ajmal, who was a notable omission from the ICC Test Cricket of the Year award list, has swept the bowling awards at the inaugural PCB annual awards function. Apart from being named the best bowler in all three categories - Tests, ODIs and T20s - Ajmal also won the PCB special prize for Best Bowler of the Year.

"Around the cricketing world, Pakistan over the years has been known for its bowling attack," Ajmal said. "To be named the best for the year from such a special group, for me this is an out of this world feeling. It took me 16 years to reach at this point in my life.

"Bowling in a Test match requires fitness, perseverance and skill. You have to think the batsman out. I am happy that I was rated as the best out of an attack that is considered second to none."

In 2012, Ajmal played six Tests in which he claimed 39 wickets at an average of 20.56, which was the best among the top ten bowlers. His best came in the UAE, where his 24 wickets at 14.70 helped Pakistan demolish England, the then No. 1 side in the world, 3-0. He also bagged 31 wickets in ODIs and 25 in T20s in this period.

Nasir Jamshed, who made a comeback to the Pakistan team last year, also won awards in more than one category. He was named Batsman of the Year in both ODIs and T20s, while the prize for the Test Batsman of the Year went to Azhar Ali, who scored 551 runs at an average of 55.10.

Mohammad Hafeez, who took over the reins of Pakistan's T20 team last year, was named the Player of the Year for his successes with both bat and ball. Junaid Khan, the young fast bowler, was named the Emerging Player of the Year.

The awards were decided by a jury comprising of Intikhab Alam, Pakistan's chief selector, Iqbal Qasim and veteran journalist Qamar Ahmed.

List of winners

Player of the Year - Mohammad Hafeez

Test Bowler of the Year - Saeed Ajmal

Test Batsman of the Year - Azhar Ali

ODI Bowler of the Year - Saeed Ajmal

ODI Batsman of the Year - Nasir Jamshed

T20 Bowler of the Year - Saeed Ajmal

T20 Batsman of the Year - Nasir Jamshed

Special prize for Best Bowler of the Year - Saeed Ajmal

Emerging Player of the Year - Junaid Khan

Lifetime Achievement Award - Imtiaz Ahmed

Most Valuable Domestic Bowler of the Year - Zulfiqar Babar

Woman Cricketer of the Year - Sana Mir

Blind Cricketer of the Year - Muhammad Jamil

Deaf Cricketer of the Year - Muhammad Shakil

Umpire of the Year - Ahsan Raza

Curator of the Year - Haji Muhammad Bashir