Sri Lanka Triangular Series 2010 July 31, 2010

Tendulkar rested for Sri Lanka tri-series

Cricinfo staff

Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir and Harbhajan Singh have all been rested for the tri-series against Sri Lanka and New Zealand that kicks off on August 10. Yuvraj Singh makes a return to the 15-man squad after being dropped for the Asia Cup, the first time he had been omitted since cementing his place.

Pace spearhead Zaheer Khan remains sidelined due to the shoulder injury which kept him out of the Tests against Sri Lanka. Ishant Sharma, out of favour when it comes to limited-overs sides after a prolonged fallow period, takes Zaheer's place and gets in line to play his first one-dayer this year.

Abhimanyu Mithun, who made his Test debut against Sri Lanka, returns to the one-day squad in place of Bengal quick bowler Ashok Dinda. Offspinner R Ashwin and Jharkhand batsman Saurabh Tiwary, who were both in India's victorious Asia Cup team, also find a place.

Dinda will now head to Australia, along with with Manish Pandey, to replace Ashwin and Tiwary in the Indian team participating in the Emerging Players tournament.

Dinesh Karthik, who flew in as Virender Sehwag's replacement midway through the Asia Cup before turning in a Man-of-the-Match performance in the final, keeps his spot and is likely to open the innings with Sehwag.

The series which also involves Sri Lanka and New Zealand has a league phase in which each team plays the other twice before the top two advance to final on August 28.

India squad: MS Dhoni (capt & wk), Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik, R Ashwin, Praveen Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Abhimanyu Mithun, Ashish Nehra, Pragyan Ojha, Saurabh Tiwary

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Chetan on August 7, 2010, 20:34 GMT

    Picking Nehra as 1 of 4 regular bowlers in an ODI is actually almost suicide. I would prefer Irfan Pathan. Both are equally incompetent bowlers, but at least Pathan can field & bat, something Nehra can't. I would have preferred India playing 10 men, rather than having Nehra open the bowling. With Nehra, you are sure of one thing - the Opposition batsmen will be launched with a lot of boundary balls in the initial phase of their innings when India wants at least dot balls, if not wickets. Nehra will come & take wickets during the last 2 / 3 overs of the opposition innings, but by the opposition will have batted India out of the match.

  • ashish on August 7, 2010, 11:39 GMT

    hey.......guys i think raina is going to blast in this series and dhoni is not doing good for him. dhoni should make raina bat consistently on no. 3 ,he is the best to bat at no. 3

  • Raks on August 6, 2010, 10:57 GMT

    @Rajit - Shrikanth is making sure we have as many tamilnadu players in the team as possible. I agree with u. Shikhar should have been gievn a chance but then he is not from TN is he?

  • burger on August 5, 2010, 18:27 GMT

    Although jadeja is playing consistently,hez not playing aggrasively which(aggression) is required for a no 7 batter.Suppose if the equation is 50 runs of 30 balls i would say iran can achieve it but i doubt jadeja's ability here.The best example is the 5th odi btw india and australia(in which sachin made a blistering 175) where india was chasing a huge score of 350 and india requried only 51 of the last 8 overs with jadeja at crease still india lost the match where as in a t20 game against srilanka where india req 60 odd runs of the last 5 overs and iran's aggression won us the match

  • Khantil on August 5, 2010, 17:36 GMT

    @dhoni_hater: How the hell can anyone say that jadeja is better than Irfan without giving him chance.. At present if you look at best promising All rounders in India for the Worldcup 2011 the list would be Irfan, Yusuf, and then jadeja.. Mr. Dhoni_hater.. Look at the stats of last 10 matches of Jadeja and keep your mouth shut... I guess you are not a well wisher of indian team...

  • Dummy4 on August 5, 2010, 6:36 GMT

    Guys u got to cooldown a bit on irfan & robhin uttapha . Both of them r injured so they r not considered for selection

  • senthil on August 4, 2010, 17:16 GMT

    This is the time for ROHIT SHARMA to prove his tallent.....

  • Dummy4 on August 4, 2010, 12:26 GMT

    I thnk m0re than the batting..,,the select0rs must focus t0 the b0wling department. It is still l0oking weak and dull.

  • Dummy4 on August 4, 2010, 7:30 GMT

    Here is the 11,

    Shewag Sachin Raina Dhoni (c / wk) Yuvraj Yousuf Pathan Irfan Pathn Zaheer Khan Murali Karthik Ojha / Mishra Mithun / R.P. Singh / Srisanth Virat Kohli (12th man)

  • Dummy4 on August 3, 2010, 13:45 GMT

    yeah thats a good enough team .... but whr's irfaan , yusuf ,&robin uthappa ??? they deserve to be in the indian team !!!!!

  • No featured comments at the moment.