South Africa news June 4, 2014

De Villiers rakes in four CSA awards

ESPNcricinfo staff

AB de Villiers missed out on being appointed South Africa's Test captain but received some consolation by scooping four awards at CSA's annual prize-giving on Wednesday. De Villiers was named cricketer of the year, Test cricketer of the year, players' player and fans' player of the year, ahead of new Test captain Hashim Amla, Dale Steyn, JP Duminy and Faf du Plessis.

The only award de Villiers was nominated for which he did not win was the ODI cricketer of the year, which went to Quinton de Kock, who matched a record of de Villiers' to take the title. Although de Villiers was the leading run-scorer for South Africa in the 2013-14 season, de Kock scored 609 runs at an average of 67.66, with four centuries of which three were in successive matches against India. De Villiers and Herschelle Gibbs are the only other South Africans to have achieved that feat, alongside Zaheer Abbas and Saeed Anwar.

De Villiers' numbers were enough to earn him every other major award on the night. He was South Africa's stand-out Test performer across the series against India and Australia, scoring 804 runs at 67.00 with three hundreds, including a match-saving one against India at Wanderers, and remains the No.1 ranked Test batsman. Combined with his wicketkeeping in the longest format and captaining in ODIs, de Villiers' popularity has soared among his compatriots and countrymen and his list of awards attested to that.

Imran Tahir was recognised for his contributions in the T20 format, where he took 18 wickets in nine matches at an average of 11.00. The legspinner was the joint leading wicket-taker at the 2014 World T20, in which South Africa were knocked out in the semifinal. Individual awards were given to Jacques Kallis for his century in his final Test against India, and Dale Steyn for the inswinger that beat Brad Haddin and flattened his middle stump in the second Test against Australia in Port Elizabeth in March.

At domestic level, Cobras captain Justin Ontong was named first-class cricketer of the year. He finished second on the run-scorers' list, five behind team-mate Stiaan van Zyl, and led the Cobras to the title. Titans' opener Heino Kuhn was the one-day cup player of the season after topping the batting with 470 runs in 11 matches at 47.00, including two hundreds. Dolphins middle-order batsman David Miller was named twenty-over player of the season. Miller scored 383 runs in 12 matches with a high score of 93 not out and a strike rate of 153.2 in a tournament Dolphins won.

The Durban-based franchise dominated the rest of the awards. They won the fair play award and their coach, Lance Klusener, was named coach of the year for overseeing their first non-shared trophy in over a decade. They previously shared the first-class title on two occasions. Kyle Abbott, who was third on the one-day cup wicket list and second on the twenty-over charts, was named domestic players' player of the year and the South African Cricketers Associations' most valuable player.

The Kingsmead groundsman, Wilson Ngobese was awarded groundsman of the year. South Africa won a Test in Durban for the time in five seasons against India in December, after losing there to Australia, India and Sri Lanka between 2009 and 2013.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • David on June 7, 2014, 17:20 GMT

    @ Sidney Gowa. I read the article, then read the list, & was shocked that the ONLY Women's award was ignored by the writers. A poor oversight - SA's women are steadily becoming a real force, & deserve the respect they have earned.

    Agree that AB was not 'denied:' not enough success to be 'undeniable!' The world respects Hash, & he'll be a positive, uniting leader. Keeping AB - undeniably the best - behind the stumps is a huge advantage for the team & gives them time to groom QdK.

    Amla's appointment will/should keep the quota police quiet, & with AB less burdened we may finally have a successful World Cup campaign. The BIG question is Hash's captaincy skills on the field. I think he'll draw heavily on Dale & AB, & Hash's calm stability directing the natural aggression of cricket's top bowler, batsman & keeper will be a deadly combo if they really click. An on-field collective helps reduce the stress that adversely affects player form, hopefully keeping Hash at his batting best!

  • Android on June 7, 2014, 16:49 GMT

    Think CSA did great job. Everybody got what they deserved. Faf would have made a better captain though. AB is a good player, but was not born a captain. Amla would be my second choice. Well done Amla, now go prove me wrong

  • Paul on June 5, 2014, 23:34 GMT

    Perhaps you'd like to tell us what JP should have won, Stormer? He was good without being exceptional and as a senior player now, needs to contribute a lot more...and a lot more regularly. He certainly has the talent.

  • Duncan on June 5, 2014, 17:57 GMT

    Agreed Sidney it was a big year for women's cricket and hopefully the momentum will continue, to mention every other award in the article and not Maria Anne's is an ommission. Well done to Lance for turning the Dolphins into a force to be reckoned with.

  • Julian on June 5, 2014, 12:07 GMT

    A bit miffed that JP never won anything .... He was very unlucky !

    But congrats to evryone

  • Dummy4 on June 5, 2014, 11:49 GMT

    I am a little bit disappointed in the author(s) of this article, as there is only one award which they do not mention, which is the Women's Cricketer of the Year. Marizanne has won this award for the second consecutive year, and despite being the only South African to represent the Rest of the World team last month, she does not even get a mention.

    This is largely part of the reason why women's cricket in SA is still considered so "amateur" compared to that of Australia or England, yet our ladies still managed to make the semi-final of the Women's World T20 recently.

  • Dummy4 on June 5, 2014, 10:57 GMT

    He was not denied the captaincy. He was not chosen. de Villiers did not have a right to the captaincy. If anything I think his captaining of the one day international team has shown him not to be an exceptional captain, well for me anyway.

  • Dummy4 on June 5, 2014, 5:03 GMT

    I'm glad AB de villiers finally got something to cheer about after being denied by CSA for the captaincy position. Unfortunately he couldn't take the 5th Award because quinton de kock deserved it. De kock outplayed everyone in pakistan and here at home against india in ODIs.

    Hat off to CSA awards, everyone deserved what they got.. Fair enough.!!

  • No featured comments at the moment.