<
>

Nabi reprimanded for breaching ICC Code of Conduct

File photo - Mohammad Nabi had claimed that he kept the ball in play, but photographic evidence later confirmed that he was in contact with the ball whilst outside the boundary Associated Press

Afghanistan allrounder Mohammad Nabi has been reprimanded for breaching the ICC Code of Conduct during the fourth ODI against Ireland on Sunday.

Nabi violated Level 1 Article 2.1.1 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel which relates to "conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game."

The incident occurred in the sixth over of Ireland's chase of 230. Opener Ed Joyce had hit the ball to the extra-cover boundary and Nabi had claimed that he kept the ball in play. Joyce did not complete the third run, assuming it was a boundary, and was adjudged run-out once the ball was thrown back in. However, an ICC release said: "photographic evidence later confirmed that Nabi was in contact with the ball whilst outside the boundary when he had flicked the ball for Rashid Khan to help run-out Joyce."

Joyce, who led Ireland to a six-wicket win with an unbeaten 105 in the third ODI, was dismissed for 12 and Ireland lost by 79 runs.

Nabi admitted the offence and accepted the sanction proposed by match referee David Jukes, and there was no need for a formal hearing. The charge had been laid by Alan Neill and C Shamshuddin, the on-field umpires, as well as reserve umpire Royl Black.

"After speaking to my colleague, I spoke to the fielder and asked him had he prevented the four," Neill later told the Belfast Telegraph. "He said 'yes'. I then asked 'were you in control of the ball when you were outside the rope?' He said 'no sir'. I went over to my colleague and said 'we have a problem here'.

"He said 'ask him again', so I repeated the same two questions and got the same two answers. He was adamant he had not touched the ball while he was outside the rope. So we had to take his word and had to give Ed Joyce out."