Australia tour of England 2013 August 19, 2013

Carberry included in T20 squad

ESPNcricinfo staff

Michael Carberry has been rewarded for his superb form in the Friends Life t20 with a call-up to England's T20 squad to play Australia on August 29 and 31. Carberry has only played once for England, a Test in Chittagong three years ago, but now has the chance to add to his solitary international appearance.

Carberry, 32, was a major force in Hampshire reaching the Flt20 semi-finals with 502 runs at 55.77 and his tally has proved too significant to ignore with inclusion in England's 13-man squad for the two-match T20 series.

But there is no room in the squad for Northamptonshire seam bowler David Willey, who also enjoyed a fine Friends Life t20. Willey, 23, took 21 wickets at 13.33 including a hat-trick in the final, where he also scored the fastest half-century of the season.

Steven Finn and Stuart Broad return to the T20 squad having both missed the series against New Zealand in June, which England lost 1-0, when they were left out to prepare for the Ashes. For Broad, it is a chance to reacquaint himself with the captaincy, six months away from the World Twenty20 in Bangladesh. Broad was last in charge of England in February when they won the series in New Zealand. Boyd Rankin, who made his debut in June, is again included but there is no place for Jonny Bairstow.

"With only eight international T20 matches until the World T20 next April this series is an important chance for players to show they are capable of performing well at this level," Geoff Miller, the national selector, said. "The two matches will also allow Ashley Giles and Stuart Broad an opportunity to look at a number of different options.

"This squad combines players with plenty of international experience with players who have impressed at domestic level and who deserve an opportunity to test themselves in an international environment against what will no doubt be a strong Australian side."

Squad Stuart Broad (capt), Ravi Bopara, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Michael Carberry, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, Eoin Morgan, Boyd Rankin, Joe Root*, James Tredwell, Luke Wright

*Joe Root was omitted from squad in original release, but later confirmed as in