USA cricket July 2, 2008

Twenty20 event set for Independence Day

The USA Cricket Council are taking another step towards forming a nationwide Twenty20 league by holding an event on July 4, Independence Day, called the Freedom T20 Cricket Tournament 08.

It will feature players from Connecticut, Central and South Florida, and will be held at the Central Broward Regional Park in Lauderhill. Expansion into other states may follow, but the current plan appears to be to consolidate the initial franchises on the Eastern seaboard, and then look to the Midwest and beyond for additional locations. The four teams will be called US Lions, US Giants, US Bears and US Sharks.

"We look forward to highlighting the best US cricketers," said Mohammad Qureshi, chairman and CEO of the Cricket Council. "Indeed the goal of CCUSA is to promote Twenty20 cricket in the US. Showcasing the best national will help accomplish our goal."

The tournament will include four games, with the main Championship Match set to begin at 5.30pm, followed by a fireworks display.

Deb K Das is Cricinfo's correspondent in the USA