Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board awards August 18, 2008

Jaggernauth named Trinidad Cricketer of the Year

Cricinfo staff

Amit Jaggernauth is reaping the rewards of a superb domestic season © La Touche Photography

Amit Jaggernauth, the offspinner, has been named the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board's (T&TCB) National Senior Cricketer of the Year. He took 40 wickets in six matches in the Carib Beer Series last season to end up as the tournament's leading wicket-taker.

His performances earned him a spot in the squad for the home Tests against Sri Lanka and Australia earlier this year, making his debut in Jamaica against Australia in May. The other contenders for the accolade were Lendl Simmons, Daren Ganga, Dwayne Bravo and Dave Mohammed.

Allrounder Bravo was named the International Cricketer of the Year and also received the TTCB President's award. "I was a bit surprised to get it (President's Award) because there were other good players in line for it but I am happy to get it," Bravo said at the function.

"I have put in a lot of hard work over the years and I am getting a lot of rewards for it now, but I still have to continue working hard and try to improve," he said. "I will try to do my best as part of the Trinidad and Tobago squad and hopefully I can bring my experience from international cricket and help the other guys on the team to improve."

Eighteen-year-old batsman Adrian Barath was named the Youth Cricketer of the Year.