Australia news May 21, 2013

Australia name women's Ashes squad

ESPNcricinfo staff

Australia have named a 15-player squad for the women's Ashes tour of England, including all 14 players contracted for the 2013-14 season as well as the batsman Sarah Elliott as a Test specialist. Elliott will fly home after the one-off Test and is the only player from outside the contract list to be part of the official touring party, although the 17-year-old Jemma Barsby will join the group in a development role.

Australia will be aiming to defend their Ashes title under a new system in which the trophy will be decided based on a combination of Test, one-day international and Twenty20 matches. Six points will be awarded for the team that wins the Test, to be held in Buckinghamshire from August 11 to 14, and two points will be awarded for victories in each of the three ODIs and three Twenty20s that follow throughout the rest of August.

"Given the players are in the Australian off-season, the Women's National Selection Panel felt that it was important to have a number of players resume training in readiness for the upcoming women's Ashes series," Julie Savage, the selection chair, said.

"As many would be aware, players such as Ellyse Perry and Jess Jonassen are recovering from surgery for injuries incurred last season. It is anticipated that they will be available for the women's Ashes series, however, the WNSP in selecting an expanded squad that includes standby players, has ensured that there are sufficient players prepared to take on the significant challenge of England on their home turf.

"This is a very important series. Australia currently hold the number one ranking in all formats and England will be extremely motivated to change the status quo. The Test match at Wormsley, a venue where Australia has had very little success in the past, will be a massive challenge for the Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars."

Ashes squad Jodie Fields (capt), Alex Blackwell (vice-capt), Jess Cameron, Sarah Coyte, Sarah Elliott (Test only), Holly Ferling, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Julie Hunter, Jess Jonassen, Meg Lanning, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Elyse Villani.