Goswami five-for gives India consolation win

India 92 for 2 (Amita 55*, Sthalekar 2-14) beat Australia 89 (Poulton 30, Goswami 5-11, Das 3-8) by eight wickets

India Women broke their run of losses against Australia Women in the final Twenty20 of the series, coasting to an eight-wicket win with 5.3 overs to spare.

Having lost the first four games, India were playing for pride. Jhulan Goswami and Archana Das produced inspired spells to make sure the hosts had at least a consolation victory to show for what has been a disappointing home series. Goswami began by bowling Alyssa Healy and Lisa Sthalekar as Australia limped to 22 for 2. Offspinner Das then wound her way through the middle order, first having Rachael Haynes stumped and then removing Alex Blackwell and captain Jodie Fields in the same over.

Goswami returned to clean up the tail in spectacular fashion. Ellyse Perry was caught behind off the second ball off the 19th over. Two balls later Goswami bowled Erin Osborne and made it three wickets in four balls by repeating the feat to dismiss Sharon Millanta. Australia were dismantled for 89; Goswami's figures read 3.5-1-11-5, four of which were bowled. Leah Poulton offered some resistance in making 30 at the top of the order and Blackwell chipped in with 20, but none of the other batsmen made it past 10.

India had struggled for runs in the series but opener Amita Sharma made sure there would be no twist in the tale with a measured unbeaten half-century. Sthalekar did manage to pick up two wickets but Australia just didn't have enough runs on the board to defend and India overhauled their target with plenty of time to spare.

IND Women 2nd innings Partnerships

54A SharmaPG Raut
18A SharmaH Kaur
20M RajA Sharma